The Mind of Bluesleepy

So this is 30 20 February 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:53 pm

Today, folks, it is my 30th birthday.  I have been eagerly awaiting this day for quite some time.  Everyone has told me that 30 is great, that it’s the decade where you really come into your own and stop worrying so much about what other people think of you.  I’m already getting there, but I am eager on continuing on that path.  I’ve had a few monkey wrenches tossed into my path, but in general I think I’m doing quite well.

My father woke me this morning with singing “Happy Birthday,” which cracked me up because my father isn’t exactly known for his lovely singing voice.  Plus he was at work when he called me, so he had to sing in front of all his office-mates.  I love my dad.  Then it was my sister’s turn about twenty minutes later, and then my mom interrupted that call with another rendition of “Happy Birthday” sung to me on her way in to work.

I felt so loved.

The rest of the morning, not so great.  Mary Ellen decided to poop, but I didn’t change her quickly enough, I guess.  The next thing I knew, somehow both Mary Ellen and Grace were covered with poo.  So then I had to clean up poo on my birthday.  Kurt quite kindly offered to take care of it for me, but I was so mad at that point that I told him to just leave me be.   I wasn’t mad at him, mind, just at the situation.  The last thing I’d want to deal with is poo.  Yuck.  And not only that, but my internet was down for most of the morning.  Aaaggghhh!!!

But then!!  The sun came out from behind the clouds in the form of my friend arriving to go to lunch with me.  Kurt had thrown me out of the house so that he could put together my gift, so this was the perfect opportunity.  We stuffed ourselves on bibimbap (in a hot pot for me, and the cold version for her), a seafood pancake, and an extra spicy screamin’ spicy tuna roll.  When the owner found out it was my birthday, she offered me a free dessert!  So we had a tempura banana with a rum sauce, served with green tea ice cream.  Oh, it was delicious.

Kurt made dinner for me tonight as well.  Flaming filet mignon (and he did indeed flame it!), potato gratin, asparagus, and toasted bread.  Wow.  It was seriously amazing.  But then he had dessert as well!!  Made from scratch!  He made these lovely molten chocolate baby cakes that were absolutely scrumptious.  I felt seriously spoiled.

And as if all this wasn’t enough, Kurt came up with the loveliest present that a person like me could possibly want.  Check it out:

My birthday present

A photo wall featuring his favorite photos of mine.  Could anything be more perfect?  Click on the photo itself to go to its page on Flickr, where I’ve got links to all the photos, in case you want to see them a little larger.  Some of these photos I had forgotten about, like Ferry at Sunrise, so it was really surprising to see them printed up.  I was so amazed and so touched.

I think Kurt done good, what do you think???

On the agenda for tomorrow — PAR-TAY!!!  We’ve got about a dozen people heading over to our neighborhood community center so we can hang out and eat and have a great time together.  Our house is just too small for that many people.  My friends Andrea and Brian are driving down from Maine, and my good friend Angela from college is coming in from Boston, as well as my local friends.  It’s going to be so much fun, and I can’t wait!

I’d love to invite all you to come too.  Wouldn’t that be a blast??

 

13 Responses to “So this is 30”

  1. beanie Says:

    Wow, Kurt, that is awesome! And Happy Birthday again!

  2. Miss Hiss Says:

    Happy Birthday, you old sausage. (Birthday poo! Ick! Hey, let’s at least hope you don’t have a repeat of that on your 40th!)Love, R xxx

  3. Rosie Says:

    Happy Birthday Darlin’!

    I think Kurt did a great job all around, and you know, about the poo? All I could think of when I read that was well, s**t really does happen!

    I hope the rest of the weekend is delightful!

  4. becca Says:

    happy birthday. hope you enjoy the party tonight. i gave up worrying what people think of me about 3 yrs ago when i left my ex and decided that life is going to be as good as i wanted from then on. i think i’ve got life right now. 🙂

  5. jen Says:

    Kurt did so good! It looks fabulous. Have fun this weekend – wish I could be there! XO

  6. kitchenlogic Says:

    Nobody should have to deal with poo on their birthday!

    So – here’s wishing you no poo for your partay day! Happy Birthday!!!!

  7. purple chai Says:

    Happy Birthday, kid!

  8. Aimee Says:

    Happy Birthday. 30 is the new fabulous!!!!

  9. art Says:

    happy birthday!!!!!

  10. terri t. Says:

    Happy Birthday one day late but I expect you are still partying and I hope it is a great weekend.
    Kurt made a very thoughtful gift for you. Wow, all that and dinner too with dessert. Hang on to him, he’s a keeper for sure. You two really compliment each other as far as cooking and thoughtful gifts and goodlooking daughters too!
    Enjoy yourself.

  11. yankeechick Says:

    Kurt did a marvelous job! The photo wall is perfect! And the meal??? YUM! I’m so glad your big 3-0 was such a great occasion!!

  12. sleepyjane Says:

    That is a gorgeous and very thoughtful present!

  13. cardiogirl Says:

    Happy belated birthday and DAMNATION! That is the most perfect and awesome birthday photo wall. Bravo to Kurt! Well done!

    You’re such a fun and sassy 30, I love it!


Leave a Reply

