The Mind of Bluesleepy

The Week Ahead: 1 March 1 March 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:37 pm

Outside my window… It’s completely dark, and I’m awaiting a nor’easter that is supposed to blow in tonight.  It looks like quite a doozy — four to eight inches, followed by freezing rain that will dump up to a tenth of an inch of ice on top of the snow, and gusts up to 20 to 30mph.  We’ll be lucky to keep our power tonight.

I am thinking… about when I should start dinner.

I am thankful for… the health of my family.  We’ve had a bit of a health scare in our family this weekend.  Kurt’s grandmother suffered another stroke which has paralyzed her right side, and has caused her difficulty in moving her left side.  But she is 80-some years old, so these things are not a huge surprise.  The doctors are confident that she’ll recover enough to be able to live successfully at home with Kurt’s parents after she goes to a rehabilitation center for a little while.  Aside from that, we have no other health issues in the family.  Everyone is hale and hearty, and I’m so thankful for that.

From the kitchen… Tonight will be a dish I love to make.  It’s Italian sausage and rosemary sautéed in olive oil and tossed in a honey sauce with linguine and kale.  It may not sound all that yummy, but it really is delicious.  Plus it’s quick and easy, and fairly healthy as I use turkey Italian sausage.  Last night I made homemade stock, though the jury is still out as to whether I was successful.  I need to go back to planning a menu for the entire week again because we’re slipping back into the mode where we go out to eat because it’s easier.

I am creating…order out of chaos, or that’s what I am telling myself.  I went through the girls’ closet last week and reorganized everything.  I even found some outfits I’d been looking for that I thought were gone forever.  Next up is the kitchen.  I have way too much stuff, and I need to get rid of the things I am really not using at all.  I need to cull my plasticware collection and reorganize my ceramic stuff.  It’s seriously bad in there.

I am going… to go make dinner as soon as I’m done with this.

I am reading… The Duchess (originally published as Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire) by Amanda Foreman.  I discussed it in an earlier blog post, so I won’t bore you with it again.  I’m really quite intrigued by the book and find myself thinking about it at random moments, which to me is the mark of a really excellent book.  A couple of my friends read it before me and had a hard time getting through it, but thus far I haven’t had a problem.

I am hoping… that the ice isn’t as bad as it’s being predicted for the nor’easter tonight.  Tomorrow starts swim lessons again, but if the weather is really bad, I just might not want to go.  I know the roads will be cleared in time, but the base isn’t always good about getting ice and salt down, especially in parking lots.

I am hearing… Mary Ellen playing with her baby gym, and my senile dog chasing ghosts are the house.

Around the house… I need to get a fair amount of work done around here.  I’ve been keeping up-to-date on the laundry (yay, me!), but other things have slid.  The kitchen needs a serious scrubbing-down, as well as the bathrooms.  I also need to figure out where I am going to hang my copy of “Brokers In the Mist” by Jen, as well as the photos of my honorary nieces and nephew that I finally found the perfect frame for.  With my new photo wall (which I love), I have almost too many photos posted on my walls.  If there is such a thing, of course.

One of my favorite things… lazing in bed on a weekday morning and listening to Kurt’s deep breathing.

A few plans for the rest of the week… I’ve been invited for coffee Wednesday morning at my friend’s house, which should be fun as I haven’t seen her in a while.  I’m also planning on inviting another friend over on Friday to play with Grace if they’re free.  Saturday is dinner-and-games night with our friends Pamela and Vic and another couple.  It’ll be a bittersweet evening, as we’ll be saying goodbye to the other couple as they move on to their next duty station.  Living here long-term is hard with all the people here for a year or less.  It’s just one big string of goodbyes, it seems.

59: North by northwest

Have a great week!

 

2 Responses to “The Week Ahead: 1 March”

  1. terri t. Says:

    I haven’t check the news yet so I don’t know if you got the bad weather that was predicted. Your up and coming week sounds busy…as usual. I had to laugh when you said you cleaned the girls closet and found outfits you were looking for….that’s a sign of a full closet! Of course, I once found a pair of shorts and a t-shirt after looking almost 5 years for them. They were thrown in a box when we moved and the box was put in the basement and never opened! However, it was great to find the t-shirt and I wore it last summer!!! LOL

  2. Aimee Says:

    I hope you’re doing okay. I heard the East Coast took a beating last night!


Leave a Reply

