The Mind of Bluesleepy

Our friends are all aboard 29 March 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:27 pm

7Days: Day 2 -- Yellow

The only tiny problem with doing 7Days over on Flickr, in which one takes a self-portrait every day for seven days, is the commenting.  It’s definitely encouraged to leave comments on many people’s photos, and I’m the type of person to comment on almost everything.  I don’t always leave anything meaningful, but the photos are so creative and great that I have to say something.

Today we went on a field trip!  Not a photo field trip this time.  Funnily enough, we’d been watching “Intervention” one night, and the woman involved lived in Gloucester, Massachusetts.  That was also the setting for one of Kurt’s favorite movies, The Perfect Storm.  He wanted to head up there and check it out.

We decided to go today so that my friend Angela and her boyfriend could meet us there.  We probably should have chosen another day.  Today was grey and cold and rainy, and everything was closed because it’s not yet the summer season.  All we could do was wander around and poke into antique shops.

I’ve grown up in several tourist-heavy areas, and we always beat the crowds by visiting the attractions in the wintertime.  The one exception was the Folklike Festival in DC, since that is always held in the summertime.  (The last time I went, it was about 85º with high humidity, and I was seven months pregnant with Grace.  Not the best of ideas, probably, but I had on my Birkenstocks.  I can do almost anything if only I’m wearing my Birks.)

I’m not good with crowds, so I would much rather go when the weather isn’t the best.  But there are so few people willing to visit the attractions here in New England during the winter that everything simply shuts down after Labor Day.  And Gloucester is no different.  There’s a museum on the fishing industry that Kurt was interested in, but it won’t open till after Memorial Day.

I guess we’ll have to head up there again come summertime.  It’s only a couple of hours away.

Driving around Massachusetts, especially places that have been around since before we were a nation, is really thought-provoking.  The landscape can be so forbidding, hilly and rocky.  It’s amazing that the settlers were able to wrest any kind of existence from the soil and the sea before you could head to your local Stop N’ Shop for provisions.

I got this rather unsettled feeling in Gloucester today.  Maybe it was the grey, drizzly day.  But maybe it was the inscription I read on the plaque at the Gloucester Fishermen’s Memorial: “The first settlers came from England in 1623 to harvest the ocean’s bounty… During the 1800s, immigrants from many lands joined in the perilous work… These intrepid men established an industry that has yielded countless millions of pounds of fish. Their legacy came at a tremendous cost: the loss of over 5300 men. Some were overtaken by the howling winds and mountainous seas of a catastrophic northeaster. Some met their fate in the solitude of a small dory gone astray from the schooner that brought them to the banks. Some ships collided in storms and tragically sank. Others were run down by steamers in shipping lanes.”

Then a list was made of the statistics relating to the lost fishermen. Of the 1000 ships lost at sea, 265 were lost with all hands.  And in a period of 46 years, between 1860 and 1906, 660 ships sank, taking almost 3900 fishermen with them.  The most sobering statistic of all was this: “A single storm in 1862 claimed 16 schooners and 120 men, while another devastating storm in 1879 took the lives of 159 men.”

It really brings home how dangerous being a fisherman is, and still is today, if you’ve ever seen “The Deadliest Catch.”  And all just to fill the bellies of a growing nation.

Speaking of growing, I cannot believe how humongous Mary Ellen is getting.  She’s laying on the couch next to me, and she takes up an entire couch cushion!  I know she’s over 18 lbs and now 27″ long, but she looks even larger than that.  I don’t know where my teeny baby went!  She’s been gobbled up by this delectably chubby infant with dimples in her knees and rolls on her arms.

I love it.

 

7 Responses to “Our friends are all aboard”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    “Perfect Storm” is one of my absolute favourite films, too. I can’t wait to look through your photos of Gloucester — right now, in fact. Love, R xxx

  2. yankeechick Says:

    Those sort of historical facts really can be unsettling, can’t it? I love getting all into that sort of thing and then find myself feeling like you do. And that part of the country is so rich in history. I envy that you get to explore so much of it!

  3. terri t. Says:

    Loved this blog. It reminds me how everytime we travel across country, I think about what it would have been like to be a pioneer woman, walking and traveling in a covered wagon or a soldier in the Civil War walking and climbing over all the hills and rocks….

    Makes our lives seem much easier in many ways…

  4. Aimee Says:

    I think I’d have a creepy feeling there too. Too bad nothing was open yet. But it is cool to wander around and get a feel for things even if nothing is ready for tourists.

  5. Angela Says:

    We may not have seen the Maritime Museum, but we got some pretty freakin’ cool wrapping paper. 😉 Loved seeing you!!!

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    Got hung up on Intervention. I’m not sure I saw that one since I rarely pay attention to the place they live. What was her addiction?

    Just saw a chick last night on prescription pain killers but I wasn’t quite satisfied with the follow up. Plus she was not filmed after the fact and that seems like a bit of a lack of success.

    I always want the person to succeed, but I know it doesn’t always turn out that way.

  7. michele Says:

    that is a totally AWESOME shot! nicely done!


Leave a Reply

