The Mind of Bluesleepy

Goodbye, farewell 3 April 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:04 pm

Taking a walk with Mom-mom

The photo above was taken on 18 January 2006 (and yes, that is an 15-month-old Grace).  The previous month, Seattle logged 35+ days of rain, rain, and more rain.  I couldn’t handle it anymore, so I called up my in-laws and asked if I could bring Grace for a visit.  A few weeks later, we were on a plane to Tucson.

My in-laws teased me the whole time I was there.  They couldn’t fathom why I was out on the back stoop all day with my face tilted up to the sun.  They didn’t know how much I needed and craved some Vitamin D.

The photo above is of Kurt’s grandma, affectionately known to the whole family as Mom-mom.  Kurt can’t really remember a time when Mom-mom wasn’t at least just around the corner.  In the late 1980s Mom-mom came to live with his family, becoming a permanent fixture.  She helped watch the boys while Kurt’s parents were at work, and even took in sitting for the neighborhood kids for extra money.  One of the kids she babysat while Kurt’s family still lived on Long Island was Billy Joel.  No foolin’!

She moved to Tucson with Kurt’s parents in the late 80s.  She watched Kurt and his brothers grow from boys into men.  She saw both Kurt and his little brother Brian join the Navy, and loving eating the food Kurt’s brother Scott would prepare after gaining work as a chef.  She met both me and Brian’s wife, approving of us both, and was so thrilled when Grace and Mary Ellen were born.

But her health had been declining these last few years.  A series of strokes robbed her of her mobility and quality of life.  And yesterday she passed away in peace, finally free of all of her health issues.

I like to think that now she’s finally singing and talking with her natural voice, as a tracheostomy performed as a result of throat cancer had rendered her unable to speak without a machine.

My only regret is that she wasn’t able to meet Mary Ellen.  But at least now she’s at peace.

 

10 Responses to “Goodbye, farewell”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    I’m very sorry to learn of your loss, and very sad your children won’t know Mom-mom and hear her stories. Love, R xxx

  2. beanie Says:

    Mom-Mom is probably singing away right now to all the children in the family… so sorry.

  3. I’m very sorry to hear about this. What a beautiful picture. I wanted to tell you that I’m deleting my blog. I’ll still be around on messenger, and maybe in the future I’ll pop up somewhere. You’ve been a great friend, and you’re the only one that still reads, so I just wanted to let you know.

  4. becca Says:

    Deepest sympathies to you all and I do think that she will be watching over you all including ME. My nan passed away last April just weeks after hearing that I was expecting James. Although he never met her or she met him, I like to think she is up there looking after him the way she would have done if she was still here. Same goes for his little bro or sister. I am not religious but I like to believe in some form of afterlife and someone to watch over us, There’s just so much in this life we don’t see or understand but I think with an open mind and an open heart and like to think that we can include them in our lives even after they’ve gone with this way of thinking.

  5. purple chai Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, but your memories of her will keep her alive for Kurt, for you, and for your children, even Mary Ellen. It is a wonderful picture. We have a similar one of my husband and his grandfather walking down the beach. It was taken a few months before his grandfather died, and so it is special to us as well.

  6. terri t. Says:

    I, too, am so sorry for this great loss. I think you should frame that picture and hang it in Gracie’s room. It’s so lovely….

    I also believe that our dearly departed moms, dads, and grandparents hang around us and watch over us. If you think of something that reminds you of her and watch for it every day….it’s a nice way to think she is saying Hi…..i.e. a cardinal or a butterfly or a certain flower…

  7. art Says:

    my condolences to you and kurt.

  8. Carolyn Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a sweet tribute this entry was. Thanks for sharing.

  9. cardiogirl Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about the passing of Kurt’s grandma. Peace to you and yours during this difficult time.


Leave a Reply

