The Mind of Bluesleepy

It’s gone pear-shaped 5 April 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:10 pm

I watch entirely too much BBC America.  If it’s on BBC, I am watching it — with the exception of Dr Who.  I realize that’s a pretty sacrilegious statement to make, especially since I love sci-fi and fantasy so much, but I haven’t seen one episode.  I’m afraid I’ll get hooked and then have to join Netflix to get all the previous seasons, and then I’ll have to start debating who’s the best Dr Who of all the men who’ve played him.

That’s just a level of commitment I don’t think I can achieve.  Not with my obsession with everything else on BBC — Mistresses, Last Restaurant Standing, Top Gear, Kitchen Nightmares, The F Word, and Ashes to Ashes.  Ah, yes.  And let’s not forget the daily lineup featuring Cash In the Attic, Bargain Hunt, How Clean Is Your House, and You Are What You Eat.  Plus tomorrow will add the UK version of Antiques Roadshow to the lineup.

I’m looking forward to it.

I get obsessed with things, you see.  If I start liking and enjoying something, I will generally do it till I start obsessing over something else.  When Kurt and I were first married, we watched Game Show Network every single night.  It was all those old game shows from the 70s that I love so much.  But Kurt understandably got really tired of the same old thing, night after night, but I didn’t want to find something new to watch.  This was before a DVR too.

Then when we lived in Washington state, it was baseball.  Every night, I watched the Mariners play on the local sports station.  At the end of the season, I felt so bereft, wondering what I would find to watch next.

For a long time, it was HGTV.  All those home improvement shows, from House Hunters to Curb Appeal.  Then it was Food Network, till they put Iron Chef America on primetime.  That is just one show I can’t really get into.  I don’t think the chefs have as much charisma as the ones on the Japanese version, and plus the commentary from the judges is absolutely priceless on the Japanese version.  The voiceovers just add to the kitschy feel.  I love it so, so much, and am so pleased it’s now on every week night on Fine Living.

So now I’m into BBC America.  I used to be into it, back when they were showing Ballykissangel every afternoon.  That was somewhere around 2002; I’m pretty sure it was after I quit my job.  Oh, that was a hot mess, my job.  Wow.  I loved my job, really I did.  I ended up with it when I went to a blood drive and struck up a conversation with the girl ahead of me in line who was reading as she waited.  Seeing as that was something I’d do, I started talking to her.  Next thing I know, she’s encouraging me to apply for her job, one that she was quitting so she could return to school for her Master’s, since the guy the company hired to replace her simply could not hack it.  Why, I’m not sure, as her job could have been done by a trained monkey.

So I applied, and I was hired.  It was at an industrial hygiene company, and I was to be the lab assistant.  I have to admit, during my hiring interview I had no idea what either of my future bosses said to me.  Both were foreigners, and both spoke English in a very heavy accent.  Even after working there for almost a year, I could only understand what they were saying if I was standing right in front of them.  Phone calls were out of the question.

I seriously loved my job.  Every day it was something new, and it was never dull.  Each day I learned something new too, and my bosses saw that I could learn pretty quickly, and that I take detailed notes, so they gave me more and more responsibility.  I have no doubt that if I had a degree in chemistry, I would have been moved up to head chemist as soon as the two other chemists quit.

But then the company started crumbling down.  First the president was fired, and then the co-founder and head of the lab was too.  And nothing was aboveboard; it was so sneaky and underhanded.  I was being pressured to sign off on stuff that wasn’t safe just because there were deadlines that needed to be met.  I couldn’t do it.  And so everyone who worked in the lab quit en masse with no notice.  The only people who stayed with the company were those who really had no other income and couldn’t afford to quit.  But they started looking for other employment as soon as possible.

Such a shame too.  We had such a wonderful working environment.  It really was like a big family.

Maybe one day I’ll find that again.

 

7 Responses to “It’s gone pear-shaped”

  1. becca Says:

    Isnt the BBC just great. People complain that we pay £138 a yr for bbc services via a tv license but we get the tv channels BBC1,2,3,4 then CBBC (Childrens BBC) CBeebies (pre schoolers cbbc) as well as a range of radio stations and internet services (look up bbc.co.uk and you will get almost everything under the sun)

    As for Doctor Who it’s great. I dont always understand it, but it’s very clever thinking and David Tennant is great (if your on his series) but I will miss him when he “regenerates” to a new actor at xmas.

    And finally, Last Restaurant Standing was just called “The Restaurant” in the UK and anything featuring Gordon Ramsay, How Clean Is Your House, and You Are What You Eat are normally on Channel 4 over here so it seems strange you mention it regarding BBC. 🙂

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    I love how this post is just full of different types of goodness! haha!

    I don’t watch a lot of tv. I’m pretty much just addicted to Supernatural.

  3. purple chai Says:

    Heavens, you really must be my long-lost third daugthter. We are all obsessions over here, although none of us gets BBC America (boo). Both girls are, nonetheless, Dr. Who fans. Apparently, to get into Dr. Who now, you don’t need to watch it from the beginning, just the David Tennant seasons and the one before him; these two are the current Doctors, so to speak, since the show was recently brought back a few years ago. Sometimes you can catch marathons on the SciFi channel.

  4. art Says:

    i remember when you were a mariners fan!! hehe!!

  5. Elle Says:

    I think I may have BBC America; however, it is not on the regularly surfed tiers of channels in my house. I am just now developing my GSN addiction, and agree most wholeheartedly with you about Iron Chef America. It has its moments, but NOTHING like the original. “The taste is very crispy and bright…”
    As far as Dr. Who, I am an elderly fan who will not pick it up again, since Tom Baker is Dr. Who. No one else, all others only pretenders to the title.

  6. michele Says:

    i also live in ruts at times… must be hereditary!

  7. terri t. Says:

    Oh, now I have another satellite to watch….I am getting tired of HGTV….too many of the same shows over and over and I can’t believe how picky some of those buyers are…most of the homes have much nicer kitchens and bathrooms than I have and I am satisfied with mine…

    I got the cookbook How to Cook Everything from the library today…wow….that’s a lot of recipes…..and I don’t cook from scratch much…..LOL

    by the way, I got your nice postcard but you didn’t give me your address so I can’t return the favor. write me on e-mail, please.


Leave a Reply

