The Mind of Bluesleepy

Gettin’ it done 14 April 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:40 pm

I had a morning to myself this morning, what with Grace at school.  Kurt can no longer take off an hour or two to go to breakfast with me on Grace’s school days; he’s in the midst of the really busy time at work.  Next week is his students’ final exams, and he’s got to make sure they know all their information.

I’ve got friends (YAY!) coming to visit this weekend, so I figured it was a good time to get some housework done.  I had planned on sweeping and mopping the floor, since it’s in desperate need of it regardless of company coming, and of course I had laundry in the wash.  And then I looked in the fridge.

(Insert horror-movie screams here.)

It wasn’t that bad, not by a long shot.  But the milk jugs always make such a mess of whatever shelf they’re on, and a few things had caused rings and small spills.  It looked bad, more than anything.

What shocks me is how much stuff we lose in the fridge.  There were some seriously nasty things in the fridge, disgusting science experiments that I would rather not have had to deal with.  Thank goodness for a garbage disposal!  Everything went down the disposal, and I whizzed it away into oblivion.

I mean, I know kimchi is fermented, but once you open it, it’s got a limited shelf life, right?  You can’t just ignore it indefinitely and still expect it to be good, I don’t think.  So that went down the drain, along with some mayonnaise that had broken from being out in the garage during the winter.  It had separated, and it smelled funny too.  And I found some really, really old sour cream.  The other things I found were simply unidentifiable.  Sauces from various meals I had made, sure.  But which sauces??  Who knows?  They were that far gone.

Now my fridge is spotlessly clean, and purged of all the nastiness and grossness that accumulates when you’ve got a fridge that makes it difficult to see everything you’ve got.  That’s why I try to keep all the condiments on the door; they’re just too easy to lose in the back of the fridge otherwise. That’s why things turn into science experiments in my fridge; they migrate to the back and enter some kind of space-time continuum where they molder away till I clean the fridge again.

I probably already realized this before, but I did notice today that several of my shelves slide out, apparently in a bid to prevent science experiments from happening.  I don’t think it will help much; the bottom shelf, the one that forms the lid to the crisper drawers, is the main culprit, and that one does not slide at all.

You should see how bare my fridge looks now!  It was pretty bare before, what with my cooking out of my fridge, but it’s insanely bare now.  It just proves to me how much of a hoarder I really can be.  I had a side-by-side fridge in Washington, and I would fill that, plus fill the old avocado green fridge in the garage to boot, even though it was just me at home (Kurt was out to sea)!  In my defense, a side-by-side fridge is so much smaller than a traditional fridge, even if they’re the same cubic footage.  You just can’t fit things into a side-by-side right, especially if they’re large.  I would shop at the commissary every two weeks, since we lived so far away from it, so I would really have to stock up.  I also bought a lot of things at Costco to save a little money, and you can’t fit a 10-pack of Lean Pockets into a side-by-side fridge unless you take them out of the box.  Then you run the risk of losing one in the back of the fridge.  And here we are, back at square one.

I’m trying to get better with the hoarding thing.  I cook from the fridge and the pantry instead of running to the store every day, and I’m trying my best to let go of a lot of things.  I packed up an enormous box of baby clothes that Mary Ellen has already grown out of, though it made my heart ache to do so.  I know there is no reason for me to keep them; they’re already four years old and I’ve gotten two kids’ worth of wear out of most of them.  What I do buy I get on serious discount, so it’s not like I’m out any real money.  I don’t think we’re having any more kids, as much as I would love to have a huge family.  We can’t really afford any more on Kurt’s income, and I’d rather not have to work if I don’t have to until the kids are in school.  So why hang on to these clothes?  I have saved a few  things, especially things that both girls wore.

But geez.  It hurts.

Now I put on my big girl panties and just deal with it.  *sigh*

 

6 Responses to “Gettin’ it done”

  1. sleepyjane Says:

    I did a quick clean of my fridge last night. I threw away; tomatoes, mayo, avo’s, muffins, left overs from last week, a mouldy piece of cheese and a cucumber. And guess what?

    They all came out the back of the fridge. How do they GET THERE? I hate throwing away food. *sigh*

  2. Poolie Says:

    My friend in Amsterdam only buys what the family is going to eat that day. Of course, living in such an urban-friendly city makes that easy. I also think it’s quaint. But noooooo! I go to Costco and then deal with science projects too!

  3. yankeechick Says:

    Since I hardly ever get to cook anymore, my humongous fridge is soooo empty! But the occasional science project can still be found, heh. But my new “Kitchen Bitch” is pretty good about clearing them out. lol

  4. art Says:

    might i suggest labelling and dating your stuff, that away there you know what you have and how long its been in the fridge!! it will save you money, and prevent science experiments!!

  5. michele Says:

    funny… i have fridge-cleaning on my near future agenda, too!

  6. terri t. Says:

    I usually find freezer burned food in my side-by-side freezer that gets lost in there. I hate to think how much money I have thrown away when I cleaned…..
    Have you thought of making a couple of quilts for the girls out of their outgrown clothing? or is it too late?


Leave a Reply

