The Mind of Bluesleepy

Back in the saddle again 21 April 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:58 pm

Did you miss me??  Sorry, I was having entirely too much fun with my friends who came to visit to write.  We spent the night in Boston and walked all over downtown.  It was awesome to see the architecture of such an old city, right up against modern glass office buildings.  Case in point:

Juxtaposition

That’s Trinity Church, built in 1873, backed up to the John Hancock Tower, which was completed in the 70s.  I have to say, while I prefer the old stone building, I think the glass walls and the shape of the tower are really beautiful, and the juxtaposition between the two is simply amazing.

While in Boston, we walked about a thousand miles and ate lots of delicious (though sometimes very expensive — $9.50 for a roll of sushi???) foods.  I took far too many photos, as evidenced by my photostream.  There are just so many that I want to post!  I took probably 150 photos and have posted about 30 thus far.  I still have probably ten more to post.

We did a bit of shopping while in Boston.  I got my very first pair of Reef flip-flops.  I love them.  Granted, I had to get a size 9 (and I generally wear a 7½), and the strap to the right sandal cuts into the area between my big toe and the one next to it, but other than that, they are so, so comfortable.  I went with the black-soled flip-flops with a black and silver fabric strap.  They’re glittery!

Love.

The time I spent with my friends was just what I needed too.  I’d so been looking forward to their time here, and when they arrived, it was even better than I had imagined.  The three of us got along really well, which was really cool since I hadn’t yet gotten to meet Traci in person.  These women are so wonderful, and I am so fortunate to have them in my life.

I’m pretty proud of myself regarding my spending this weekend.  Usually I am too quick to pull out my credit card, but this weekend I used mainly cash.  When I did pull out some plastic, I used my checkcard that takes money from my checking account.  Somehow I managed to stay within budget!  I think that had more to do with the fact that there was nothing to fit me at Anthropologie and less to do with any kind of willpower on my part.

Speaking of saving money, I have decided to cancel my subscription to the Providence Journal.  I had gotten a bill in the mail that showed that a six-month subscription for the weekend editions had gone from $36 to $52!  That, my friends, is insane.   When I called the paper to investigate, I was informed that the price of the weekend editions had gone up to $4 a week.  I don’t even read the Saturday paper; I just want the coupons from the Sunday paper.  I can’t justify spending that much, especially since a newsstand copy of the Sunday paper runs $3.  I guess there’s no longer any discount to having it delivered to your house.  I’m still in shock that the price increased so dramatically in such a short time.

I still get the Newport Daily News, a six-day-a-week paper with afternoon delivery.  I haven’t been reading it lately, though I keep meaning to do so.  I’ve found so many fun things to do just by reading the newspaper, and that’s how I keep abreast of what is going on locally.  There is no other way to get local news.  Our TV and radio stations come out of Providence and tend to ignore what is going on down here, and the Daily News isn’t reported online.  They seriously need to get with the program already.

So how was your weekend?  Did I miss anything exciting?

 

6 Responses to “Back in the saddle again”

  1. art Says:

    THREE DOLLARS for the sunday providence journal??? that IS insane!! you can get the san francisco chronicle FOR A BUCK on sundays!! this just goes to show you how the print media is in panic mode and is trying all it can to maintain costs. more and more newspapers are being read online. and just this morning i got an email from the san francisco chronicle that for just 99 bucks a year i can get a digital reproduction of the daily and sunday paper online!

  2. karmacat Says:

    I love the Trinity/Hancock photo! Beautiful!

    I bought my Reefs in Hawaii five years ago, and they’re still going strong. At the time, I couldn’t believe I spent so much on flip flops, but they are so worth it. Many, many miles on them.

    We’ll have to chat about the ProJo when we get together. ProJo sucks.

  3. terri t. Says:

    I expect many newspapers and magazines are going to go under this year. We are probably not going to renew our paper subscription when it runs out…even the coupons aren’t very good anymore. And I have been letting all my magazines run out. Amazing the offers I am getting now to renew….prices are dropping fast….but I already lost one of my favorite magazines and they subbed with another one that I don’t like at all.

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    Reef flip flops are the best thing ever! I had a black pair that I wore for years until my friends dog chewed one up. I was really sad that day.

    So glad you’re back and updating again. 🙂

  5. beccasfamilyof5 Says:

    I had a great weekend thank you very much. As well as having a holiday and seeing much of Eastern England, I have changed homes and moved over to wordpress myself, 🙂

    Beautiful picture by the way.

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    I’m happy that you got the Reef sandals that you wanted.

    BUT.

    Am I hearing you correctly that the nasty thong thing between the big toe and the second toe is cutting into your flesh. And if so, how will you deal with this until your skin toughens up.

    And, are these sandals worth blood and calluses?

    Not a fan of flip flops, if you haven’t guessed.


Leave a Reply

