The Mind of Bluesleepy

Like a wave on the water 26 April 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:50 pm

HEAT WAVE!

Folks, I am not kidding.  Yesterday the high was 58º.  Tomorrow the high is predicted to be 67º.  Today’s high was in the 90s.  (That’s 14º, 19º, and 34º-ish to you metric folks.)

HOT HOT HOT.

Actually it wasn’t that bad.  For one thing, the humidity was pretty low, so it never got muggy.  For another, there was almost always a nice breeze blowing to cool us down.  And lastly we got out of the house.  I think that was key, the getting out of the house.  I remember being stuck in the house when we lived in Washington when the temperatures would start to rise, and I was miserable.

I asked Kurt if we could explore more of Rhode Island, the parts we hadn’t really seen.  Generally we stick to the eastern side of the state, from Newport to Warwick and up to Providence.  We’ve seen it all, really.  It’s a small state!

So we headed up Route 102 to investigate.  Along the way we stumbled upon an Earth Day Fair that helped benefit the Hianloland Volunteer Fire Department near West Greenwich.  And I was just saying to Kurt that I wish there had been a fair we could go to today.  Talk about serendipity!

There wasn’t much to the fair, just a few local vendors selling things like handmade soaps and Pampered Chef.  But there were pony rides and a wall to climb and goats to pet.  Not only that, but the firefighters were selling clam cakes and clam chowder inside the firehouse.  Yum!  When we finally made our way to the eats, the clam cakes were already all gone, and to make it up to us, the fire chief decided to sell us two quarts of clam chowder for the price of one.  Total price?  Four dollars.

Chowdah!

I was always under the impression that Rhode Island clam chowder was made with a clear broth to distinguish it from the creamy New England clam chowder or the tomato-y Manhattan style.  I’m not quite sure what this chowder had in it, but it was quite good.  Too many oyster crackers, obviously, but sometimes you just gotta.

Funny story regarding oyster crackers.  One day we were out to eat at a place serving seafood (probably an all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet), and I was busy stuffing myself silly with crab.  But I needed more than just my hands to break apart the crab legs.  So I asked Kurt to get some some crab crackers.  Instead of coming back with the implement that cracks apart crab shell, he brought me a packet of oyster crackers!  I don’t think we stopped laughing for a good thirty minutes, and I still giggle when I think about it.

Maybe it was funnier when it happened.

Anyhow, the chowder was HOT when it was delivered to our table.  Like lava hot!  Just the thing for a broiling hot summer day, eh?  I’m sure that most Earth Day Fairs are held during much cooler temperatures, so clam chowder makes a heck of a lot more sense.

I’m starting to get the feeling that we bring the hot when it comes to fairs.  KarmaCat informed me of the Scituate Art Festival when we first moved here, so we decided to check it out.  That was in September, but I guess we had a bit of Indian summer that day.  The temperature had to be in the 90s, and everywhere we went, we overheard people wondering at the hot, hot weather.  I heard someone say that usually people are dying for a hot cocoa to warm themselves up during the festival, but that day the Del’s guys could barely keep up with the demand for frozen lemonade.

Finally we had seen all there was to see, and Grace had copious photos taken of her on the firetrucks.  How she loves the emergency vehicles!  I think if she could have taken one home as a pet, she would have.

Love at first sight

What does one feed firetrucks?? Gas, I guess. They might need too much room than what I can give them here in military housing…

And then we took the long way home on all kinds of back roads.  Dinner was chipotle burgers on the grill with roasted potato salad and a green salad on the side.  I broke out the blueberry ale — nom.  The sweetness really balanced the spiciness of the chipotle burgers.  We ate outside too; by then, the sun had gone down enough to do some seriously cooling.  There is nothing better than delicious foods cooked outside and enjoyed in one’s backyard.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

 

4 Responses to “Like a wave on the water”

  1. beccasfamilyof5 Says:

    Grace has SO got your smile!!! 🙂

    I always like reading about your food too. 🙂

  2. terri t. Says:

    Gracie looks like she was a bit warm or else she was sunburned a little bit. Maybe she will be a firefighter when she grows up!
    And many thanks for naming that spatula on Hell’s Kitchen, I noticed it too and thought it looks like it would be good for so many things….I had no idea what it was called. Now I can be looking for that.

  3. Lori Matteson Says:

    I was just doing a search on Hianloland fire station to find out if they still do clam cake & chowdah lunches/suppers like they did when I was a kid… My grandfather would take me & my sisters, along with our great & great-great Aunt along for a Sunday drive every Sunday… we’d always stop at one of 1/2 a dozen different places… The Dew Drop Inn, in Ct (which I believe is still there), The Four Seasons, on Rte. 1 in Charlestown (gone), The Dovecrest (Native American cuisine) in Acadia, one place, of which I do not recall the name and the fire station where we’d get clam cakes & chowdah. Awesome memories!!!

  4. Lori Matteson Says:

    Oh yeah, and the Purple Cat, don’t remember where that one was!!!


Leave a Reply

