The Mind of Bluesleepy

No time to spare 9 May 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:53 pm

I’ve been seriously remiss in updating, haven’t I?  I can’t help it.  It’s one thing or another, and the day is gone before I’ve had a chance to update.  I guess that’s good in a way, but I miss all my blog friends.  I still love you, don’t fret.  I’ll get back into the groove of things.

Today was insanely busy.  My friend emailed me first thing this morning to see if I was up for a trip to Warwick.  (I seem to be the only person who calls it “Warrick.”  I can’t be bothered to say “War-wick.”)  I’m up for just about anything where this friend is involved, so off we went to see what there was to see in Warwick.

The trip home was a bit eerie.  The fog had rolled in over the water, so going over the bridges was pretty surreal.  You couldn’t see to the other side of the bridge, even from mid-span.  I had planned to show her the farm we were going to later that day, but there was literally nothing to see but sheer white.  I tried to take a photo but there was nothing for my camera to focus on.

Even coming across the Pell Bridge to Newport was somewhat nerve-wracking.  The tops of the towers were lost in the clouds, and it was a pretty freaky feeling.  Yet once we landed on the other side, the fog was gone.

Slight problem here...

As soon as I got home, I turned around and headed out to the sheep shearing at Watson Farm over on Jamestown Island.  We’d gone last year on a whim; I had read about it in the Saturday paper that morning, and we had nothing better to do.  This year I remembered it and made sure we could go since it’s a once-a-year event.  We weren’t sure if we wanted to go since it had rained all morning, but Kurt agreed to pack Mary Ellen on his back so we wouldn’t have to take the stroller, and everyone wore shoes that could get muddy if necessary.

By the time we got to the farm, the ground had dried out a bit.  The puddles were easy to get around, and fortunately Grace is not one who aims for puddles unthinkingly.  I wouldn’t mind if she had aimed for a few puddles if she had her rain boots on, but alas, we have left them at school.  Oops.

I’m always amazed at the sheep shearing.  The women manhandle these sheep around, flop them on their bottoms and contort their necks, and the sheep submit passively.  I guess they realize they’ll feel much, much better once all that heavy winter fleece is off.

Like Jell-OIt’s quite an armful, what each sheep yields.  And these ladies are so skilled in the shearing that it comes off pretty much all in one piece.  There was a wagon-load of wool in the yard, and we were able to touch what had just clothed the poor sheep.  It was so soft, yet with the natural lanolin still present.  It’s such an amazing feeling.

We then wandered around the rest of the farm.  They give tours all summer long, and I’m thinking to go back one day for a tour.  I really want to hear about what they do at this farm.  I mean, obviously they raise sheep and cows (we saw plenty of them on the back forty), but do they milk the cows?  I didn’t see a milking barn, so I don’t know.  These are the questions I would like to have answered.

I also got to try a real Rhode Island johnnycake today too.  Another local farm had set up a booth and were frying up johnnycakes — little mini corn pancakes, for all intents and purposes.  And they were delicious!  I’ll have to get hold of the right kind of cornmeal and make some up for my family.

Too bad it was just a wee bit too cold for Del’s frozen lemonade, though they were still doing a pretty brisk business.  I think Rhode Islanders like to fool themselves that it is spring just because the calendar says so, regardless of what Mother Nature is throwing at us!

After all that fresh air, I was really tired when we arrived back home.  Kurt kindly made dinner for us — beef and bean quesadillas, served with salad.  Yum!  And they tasted even better because I didn’t have to make them.  Grace and Kurt got to talking about hot sauce for some reason, and Kurt asked Grace how to spell “Texas,” since his favorite hot sauce is Texas Pete.  Grace thought about it for a few moments, started with a T, but then got stuck.  As she puzzled through, I ended up changing the subject and distracting Kurt.  Next thing we know, Grace has raided the fridge and come back with a bottle of Texas Pete so she could spell it for us!!  How’s that for problem-solving?!

Hmmm, I wonder where she got that from!  Hee!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there — even if it’s just to a fish or a furry creature!

(More photos from the shearing HERE.)

 

2 Responses to “No time to spare”

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too. Glad your day turned out so well in spite of Mother Nature’s best efforts to siderail you!

  2. terri t. Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you. I would say that Gracie is a good problem-solver…..guess she gets that from you. LOL.

    Sounds like you have been quite busy and productive…


Leave a Reply

