The Mind of Bluesleepy

In the immortal words 30 June 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:58 pm

In the immortal words of Bon Jovi, “Never say goodbye.”

Easier said than done, of course.  Tonight I made a farewell dinner for my good friend Bridget.  On the menu were sweet n’ sour mini meatloaf muffins, pierogies (frozen, not homemade), homemade whole wheat-molasses bread, and steamed broccoli.  I have to say, it was all a major hit.  Apparently Bridget’s husband loves meatloaf, and she rarely makes it.  So he was thrilled to be getting meatloaf for dinner.  I’m not a huge fan of meatloaf myself, but these little meatloaf muffins are not nearly as intimidating as an entire loaf.  Plus they cook in only twenty to twenty-five minutes, instead of the hour or more a regular meatloaf can take.

Is there anyone else who’s never had pierogies before?  I’d had them before, but when I found a $1 off coupon, making them just 99¢ at the commissary, I just had to buy them.  All I did was pan-fry them up, and Kurt couldn’t get enough!  And what better to serve with meatloaf but some kind of potato??  Pierogies it was, and Bridget and her husband, who’d never had them before, thought they were delicious.

I’m so glad I could do this for them.  I’ve cooked for them before, but I knew they didn’t want to eat out on the eve of their drive to their next duty station.  It’ll be another couple weeks before they’re perfectly settled, so I figured a home-cooked meal would be the best thing for them.

I will miss her so much.  The first night I met her, I told Kurt later that I thought she and I would really hit it off.  She’s just as quirky and nerdy as I am, and we’re both interested in the same sorts of thing.  And because of her, I love Top Chef and So You Think You Can Dance!  I will miss texting her at 8:30 at night and coercing her over to hang out with the promise of Kurt’s delicious popcorn.  It didn’t matter what day of the week it was, or what was going on the next day.  She was always willing to come over to spend time with me, or to invite me over to her house.

I went over to her house after dinner tonight to retrieve some of the food she couldn’t take with her on the move.  It was so weird seeing everything taken down off the walls, all her belongings packed up in boxes.  It was really hard to see.

However, there is a slim chance that her husband will be transferred to southern Virginia in a year, near where we’d like to go next.  It would be really awesome if that happened, especially since her husband is Air Force.  It’s not surprising to follow someone around the country when they’re part of the same branch of the military, but ending up with someone from another branch is pretty darn rare.

Keep your fingers crossed!

So this is the third person I’ve said goodbye to in the last couple of weeks, but this is only the beginning.  Of the ten families on our street, we’ll be saying goodbye to three, possibly four, families before the summer’s over.  My next-door neighbors are moving in a few weeks, and I’m kind of hoping we don’t get new neighbors.  How awesome would it be to have the whole driveway to ourselves!

Oh wait.  That means we’d have to shovel the whole thing come winter.  Dangit.

Hopefully this is the last of my sad news.  It’ll be quiet without Bridget around, but it won’t be the end of the world.  Grace still has swim lessons and summer camp to keep her busy, and I’m trying to meet new people for her to hang out with.  I’ve still got two good friends on my street to spend time with, though neither have small children.  I’m sure I’ll find plenty of trouble to get into!

I’m thinking we need to take a family vacation around New England, explore this part of the country before we leave it ourselves next year.  I’m starting to learn that time moves more quickly than I think it does.  Before I know it, we’ll be moving ourselves.

 

2 Responses to “In the immortal words”

  1. Poolie Says:

    Kurt’s career calls for more than your fair share of goodbyes. Sorry, sweetie. I know how it feels when you get attached to a place and a group of people. ((hugs))

  2. terri t. Says:

    Based on what I know from my oldest BIL who was a career Navy man, they have friends all over the country and have kept those friendships alive for years. I bet you will do the same…there’s always e-mails…

    The dinner sounded great and I bet they really enjoyed having a home-cooked meal, especially one of yours.


Leave a Reply

