The Mind of Bluesleepy

Abbreviation is such a long word 6 July 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:38 pm

187: Caution

I am an exercising fool!!

Now I don’t know how long this will last.  I am not one of those people who enjoys working out.  I don’t get a high from it, and I haven’t noticed any changes in my energy level since I’ve started this exercise thing.  You see, while I’m not exactly fit, I’m not nearly as out of shape as you would think, looking at all the excess weight I am carrying about.  I see ads for weight-loss programs online where the women are the same size as me, and they’d say, “I was tired of not being able to run after my child, of getting out of breath after climbing one set of stairs.”  That’s never been something I’ve struggled with.  I can run and chase after my kids as needed, and I love to go out back and play with Grace.  Granted, I don’t get very many opportunities to climb stairs, as I live in a ranch-style home (or rambler, for you West Coast people), but at the mall I’d far rather climb a few stairs than wait for the elevator.

Also I know how much work it’s going to take for me to see any change in my body.  I will have to lose probably twenty to thirty pounds before I drop a dress size.  I don’t know how these women are shaped, the ones who can drop five pounds and one dress size, but that’s not how I am made.  I am forty pounds heavier than I was in high school and just one size larger.  I know some of it resides in my bosom, since I am six cup sizes larger than I was, but where’s the rest of it?

That’s why I get a bit discouraged in the exercise department.  I know it’ll take a long, long, long time to see any kind of results.  When Kurt and I were first married, we’d go to the gym every other day, and I’d spend so much time on the bikes and the elliptical machines.  Yet I never seemed to lose any weight.  It was so discouraging that I just stopped going.

I am now the proud owner of the Wii Active.  I have the Wii Fit, and while I enjoy it, it just doesn’t give me any kind of a workout.  I just like to play the balance games.  I love love love the Step Aerobics segment, but there’s only so many times you can do the same exercise over and over again.  The Active, on the other hand, is an actual workout, with walking, running, strength training, and cardio boxing.  I’ve learned so many exercises that I had never done before — devilish things like Bent Over Rows with Tricep Kickbacks and Jump Lunges.  I actually like the Bicep Curls with Shoulder Raises, and the Bicep Curls with Overhead Presses.  The boxing is fun, as is the sports drills that are part of the mix.  What I hate hate hate are the track exercises.  I hate running.  I hate kickups (though I especially loathe the fast kickups).  I hate high knees.  But I power through and do them anyhow.  I need to.  I need to drop this extra weight.  I need to feel better.

The first couple of days I could barely walk.  I thought I was going to die.  Part of it I brought on myself.  The night I got it, I went ahead and did the first workout on the 30 Day Challenge.  But then Kurt said, “Oh I want to try!”  So we did a two-person workout.  Oh my word, I thought I was going to die.  I started off way too quickly.  It was really, really bad.  Each time I went to the restroom I wanted to cry.

But now I’m not sore, at least to that degree.  Tonight’s workout did a lot with the arms, so I can feel that my shoulders and my triceps have taken a slight beating.  It’s not debilitating, though.

I’m also trying to be better about my eating.  This week it’s easy with Kurt being gone.  He’s the type of person to snack almost constantly, and his metabolism requires it.  Problem is, when he’s up getting a snack, he’s usually getting one for me too.  I really really really want a molasses cookie that I had gotten from the store this weekend, but I know one cookie is 90 calories and according to my Wii Active, I just burned 125 calories.  Do I really want to eat one thing that’ll erase all that work I’ve done, or can I find something healthier?

I’m voting on healthier.

And if that weren’t enough, this morning I took the girls on a 50-minute walk through the neighborhood.  In hindsight, it was a bit of a foolish move.  I didn’t realize exactly how hot it was outside.  The thermometer read just 76º when I left, but the air was still and muggy.  It didn’t take long to work up a major sweat.  Mary Ellen was fine in her covered stroller; in fact, she fell asleep!  Grace took her doll baby out in her stroller, which was nice as I could hear her rattling along behind me.  But I think it was just a bit too hot to walk that far with her.  She was a real trooper, though.  Once she saw our backyard from the other street, she was rarin’ to finish the walk.  Fifteen minutes after we got home, she wanted to go back outside and play.  I put the kibosh on that; she really needed to cool down.  I did let her go back outside later in the afternoon, and again after dinner when the sun wasn’t as direct.

So that’s where I am at on this journey towards better health.  Hopefully I can stick with it.  *crosses fingers*

 

4 Responses to “Abbreviation is such a long word”

  1. purple chai Says:

    I need to look into the Wii Active, but I’m afraid it’ll be too much for me. I’m old, you know!

  2. terri t. Says:

    I applaud your efforts…It isn’t easy to keep up with exercise especially if you have to fit your mommy time into it as well.
    I found that cutting back on carbs was the way to go for me….good luck with your plan

  3. Aubrey Says:

    I LOVE the Wii Active!! Nick got it for me for my b-day, and I also was doing the 30 day challenge. I admit, I took that week off while we were on vacation (and we let our friends try it while we were away), and since we didn’t get it back until Sunday and summer school started on Monday, I haven’t gotten back into it. But boy, do I know your pain after those first few days! I hated the rollerblading one where you have to squat low and then jump. All this talk makes me really think about how I need to get back to doing it daily!! Thanks for the motivation!! 🙂

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Man now I want a Wii! I’m really interested in hearing how the 30 Day Challenge goes, will you update throughout the process? I know exactly what you mean when every day activities become chores because of the new muscles used.

    I do recall starting a new work out eons ago (in my 20s) with a crazed trainer. The next day it actually hurt to lift my arm to change the radio station in the car!

    I don’t believe I went back after that.


Leave a Reply

