The Mind of Bluesleepy

Monday monkey lives for the weekend 13 July 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:58 pm

For some reason, I’ve had a wild hair up my derriere today.  Not only have I gotten down on my hands and knees to scrub the kitchen floor, but I’ve also reorganized not one but two (2!!!) closets.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over??

In my defense, the floor was very necessary.  I have this linoleum that looks like fake marble, and there are all these little pockmarks in the linoleum to give it texture.  Why the heck does linoleum need texture???  Dirt builds up in all those little pockmarks and makes my floor look horribly dirty, no matter how many times I mop it.  About once a month or so, I have to get on my hands and knees and scrub it like there’s no tomorrow.

It’s actually rather therapeutic.  The dirt comes up rather easily, so my progress is immediately visible.  I’m all over immediate gratification.  And I love using my Mrs Meyer’s lavender cleaner; it smells wonderfully soothing.

Grace decided to help out by going behind me to mop up my excess water.  It wasn’t long before I had to send her out to play, though.  She was making more of a mess than I was!

Her behavior is so much better this week.  Maybe it was Kurt being gone; I don’t know.  She did start acting up on Saturday with Kurt, but I think she realized that Daddy was very disappointed in her, and that was enough to get her to shape up.  Hey, whatever works!  I’m hoping that was just a short phase she went through.  I still plan on doing more with her, just the two of us.  I also make sure that she gets lots of praise and cuddles when she’s being good.  Maybe positive reinforcement is the ticket!

Anyhow.  Back to cleaning.  I’m getting rather gung-ho about it because Kurt’s aunt and uncle will be staying with us on Saturday.  I tend to keep a fairly clean, if cluttered home, but it’s been a while since I did the deep stuff.  Hence the floor scrubbing.  I may also shampoo the carpets now that I won’t have to worry about Koolit marking them anymore.  (*sniff sniff*)

Hey, some people do spring cleaning.  Apparently I do summer cleaning.  That, and it finally feels like spring!  It’s hard to want to clean when it’s still cold and wet and drizzly and gloomy outside.  It’s been gorgeous this past week — warm and sunny with a nice breeze, perfect weather to throw open the windows and get some deep cleaning done.

And now it is time for a rant.  I’ve got two photography projects going on at the moment, one being my year-long Photo of the Day assignment (which can be seen HERE, if you are interested), and the other being 7Days, in which I am to take a self-portrait every day for seven days.  So photography has been on my mind for quite some time, as if it’s ever really far from my thoughts.

I have to say, though, that I’m starting to feel a bit of resentment when people ask me to take photos for them “because you’ve got the better camera!”  Or when they give me a compliment on my photos, but back it up with, “Well, no wonder — look at your nice camera!”  The camera’s got very little to do with it.  Having a good camera makes it easier to take photos with the effects I want, but it’s not the sole reason I get good shots.  I mean, would you ask your artistic friend to draw your portrait just because she’s got better charcoals?  Or would you ask her to do it because she’s got some serious talent?

I realize I’m not nearly as talented as a lot of people I know, but I’d like to be recognized for what I do have.  If it’s just my camera, I’ll lend it to you to use.

Heh.

I have to say that I am highly amused when I ask someone to take a photo for me with my camera.  People are so used to live viewscreens on their cameras that they expect mine to light up.  When I explain that they have to put their eye to the viewfinder on my camera, they look at me in confusion, like, “Viewfinder???  Wassat??”

How far we’ve come!

 

3 Responses to “Monday monkey lives for the weekend”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    It still feels weird to me to not have a viewfinder on my camera.

  2. terri t. Says:

    No viewfinder throws me off every time.

    I am finding it strange NOT to have to be cleaning up since my entire house is a mess due to the bathroom remodeling…..see my blog to sympathize with me…::snort::

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    Damn the pock marks! I have the very same thing and I hate it with a white-hot intensity of 1000 suns.

    Of course the floor doesn’t know that and continues to collect grime in every last pock, but I hex it daily.


Leave a Reply

