The Mind of Bluesleepy

The head, it throbs 15 July 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:15 pm

My preciousssss

My preciousssss.  It has arrived!!

I spazzed out just a bit when the FedEx man drove right past the house since I knew the precioussss was on the truck.  How did I know this?  They called me at 7am to tell me so.  Of course I wasn’t awake enough to answer.  Who’s awake at 7am???

Don’t answer that.

Let me just say that the preciousssss, she is beautiful.  I am so excited to have a pink laptop; you just have no idea.  It’s the simple things that amuse me.

But there are a few issues.  For one thing, there is no latch to keep the laptop closed.  I don’t think that’s a problem, per se, but it’s a wee bit weird.  I kept searching for the latch to open the dang thing to no avail.  Duh.  Inserting the SD card requires a bit of work, which is sort of frustrating because that’s how I prefer to upload my photos — straight from my SD card.  I don’t see why I should waste my battery by taking them from my camera, and this makes it so I don’t have to load my camera’s (usually extremely buggy) software on to my computer.  Having Windows is bad enough, let me tell you.

One of the first screens at startup touted this new software called Windows Easy Transfer.  Why.  Why does Windows do this to us?  There is no such thing as “easy” when it comes to Windows.  I attempted to use the “easy transfer” three times before I gave up and just pulled my necessary data off my external hard drive.  It took a fraction of the time.

If any of you are Firefox users, may I please recommend that you install Xmarks??  I started up Firefox on my new laptop, synchronized Xmarks, and voila!  I had all my shortcuts and bookmarks, all in the same order and in the same folders.  Awesome.

That was pretty much the only thing that went smoothly.  Gah.  Firefox has now upgraded to 3.5, and there is no way you can download an earlier version, apparently.  There are websites that supposedly have the older version available to download, but they looked pretty skeevy to me.  It’s not so much that I mind using 3.5; it’s just that my preferred theme isn’t available for the newest version yet. And what is this preferred theme, you ask?  Ha.  Don’t laugh, but it’s Pimpzilla.  The toolbar is fur, the area behind the tabs are leopard print, and the buttons are blinged-out.  It’s so tacky, it’s awesome.  I have used it for years, but it’s not yet available for the newest version of Firefox.

This causes me a slight bit of concern.  I am a bit OCD with my computer.  OK, maybe not a bit.  There are ways I need to have my computer, and when it’s a little out of whack, I get anxious.  For example, I have the same wallpaper on this new laptop as I had on the old one.  I have all my shortcuts across the top of Firefox in the same order.  I have my tabs in Firefox in the same order, and if I accidentally close a tab, I have to open a new one and put it back where it goes.

So not having Pimpzilla is causing me a wee bit of worry.  That, and most of the themes for Firefox are pretty cheesy.  They just take the basic skin and change the color.  Ho hum, how boring.  I want something unique and creative.  Now I have this other skin called OldFactory Fancy installed, and even that is a bit worrisome.  My ForecastFox usually runs at the top of my Firefox window, but the skin’s text is done in light silver, and it can’t be read in that position.  Not only can I not have my preferred theme (yet), but I can’t even have Firefox set up right!

I have issues.  I know this.  But I’m still lovable.

I’m finally getting somewhere with my laptop.  I’ve got all the most important programs installed, all the ones I use with my photographs and all the ones I need for social networking.  I’ll leave Office and anything else I’ve forgotten for tomorrow because honestly?  My head is killing me.  I’ve been working on this darn thing for the last six hours, most of which was taken up by the so-called “easy transfer.”

Windows.  I should have known.  One of these days I’ll get a Mac.  That’s a promise!

 

7 Responses to “The head, it throbs”

  1. poolagirl Says:

    That is soooo fookin COOL!

  2. purple chai Says:

    I’m the same way. When I say I’m “playing” with my computer, I don’t mean games. I mean tweaking everything so it looks like I need it to look, tidying up folders, and so on.

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    You definitely are lovable. 🙂 YAY for your new laptop – she’s a beaut!

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Oh, she is a looker! I do love hot pink and a hot pink lap top would be the bee’s knees, but I’d have to wrestle it away from my kids.

    And Pimpzilla should be a favorite simply for the name!

  5. terri t. Says:

    I am sure you will soon have the new preciousssss whipped into submission and ready for action….

  6. pinky Says:

    acer aspire one pink
    I bought this netbook in February and it is still as fast and effective as it was when I took it out of the box. I take it with me to the library every time I go so I can access the wireless network on my own machine, plus I’ve taken it on vacation because it’s so portable. Plus, I do all of my graduate school work on this little machine. It still boots quickly and is able to run multiple applications at once. My favorite aspects of this computer are its portability, decent battery life, and the cute pink color.

  7. […] I do not own a laptop computer. Man if I came into a windfall of money I’d buy a laptop. And I think I’d get a hot pink one, like bluesleepy. Just got back from Dell’s website, I’d definitely go passion purple. (Hope preciousss […]


Leave a Reply

