The Mind of Bluesleepy

I just can’t hide it!! 6 August 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:13 pm

It’s been a banner day here in the house of Bluesleepy.

For one thing, my husband made the front cover of the Newport Daily News!

Look who Kurt got to meet!

How’s about that for amazing???  Yes, folks, that is Ernest Borgnine!  He had been stationed here at Naval Station Newport sometime in the 1930s, and for some reason he decided to check out his old haunt.  Can you believe he’s 92?  He looks really good for being that old and seems to be in great health.  He laughed and joked and thoroughly enjoyed himself.  The guys took him into the high-tech simulator, where it really feels like you’re on the bridge of a ship, shooting at baddies off your hull.  They took the simulation up to sea state 5, and Mr Borgnine said he started feeling a little seasick — it’s that realistic!  All that moves is the video you’re looking at, but it feels so real. When Kurt gives the tour to visiting friends, he always ends up grabbing the overhead (the ceiling, for you landlubbers) when he sees a particularly bad wave coming, though he’s standing on solid ground.

This photo was snapped when Mr Borgnine showed up in the training simulators for the frigates, right as Kurt was instructing his class.  Kurt’s on the far right, and the other gents, plus a nearly-hidden woman, in the photo are his students.  Mr Borgnine stayed for a little while and watched Kurt’s class, and then got the tour of how things work back there.

Kurt called me this afternoon to ask if I’d gotten my newspaper yet (the paper is an afternoon delivery) because one of his coworkers said his photo was in it.  He had no idea he was on the front cover till I called him back to tell him.  I wish I could link you to the article, but alas, the Daily News wants money, even if you are a subscriber to the print version, to be able to view its online version.  And then newspapers wonder why they’re a dying breed.

As if that weren’t excitement enough, guess who I get to see tomorrow????

Karyl and best friend Caroline in June 1997

THIS GIRL!  The one on the left is me, amazingly enough, but the girl on the right is my bestest friend Caroline.  That photo was taken just after we graduated high school.  I had moved back to northern Virginia by then, and her high school choir had come to sing on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.  We couldn’t resist meeting up since I lived so close to DC, and my ex-boyfriend Scott took that photo.

Caroline and I met wayyyy back when I lived in Nebraska, the winter of 1992, it was, when we were just 13.  We went to the same church, though we never did go to the same school.  We bonded immediately once we found out we were both being raised by our fathers after divorce because that’s a rare thing.  Or it was back in the 1980s, anyhow.  We both sang in our church choir, but it became quickly apparent that we could not sit next to each other because we were chatterboxes.

Me???  Talk too much??? Noooo.

*snort*

I moved back to Virginia after our freshman year in high school, but we kept in touch.  Then she got married right after high school to her high school sweetheart, and they moved to Virginia because he was in the Navy.  We re-kindled our friendship then, as I was attending college just an hour away from her house.  Once I got married to my own sailor, we bonded even more.  Now we’ve got kids, and we’re both Navy wives, and we just get each other, more than anyone else in the world.  I can tell her seriously anything at all in the universe, and she will love me and not judge me.  She may not love what I have done or said, but she loves me.  And that’s a very rare friend to find.

I haven’t seen her since I was three months pregnant with Grace, so that was five and a half years ago.  It’s about time we got to hang out, especially since I now have two kids and she’s got three!

So tomorrow we meet somewhere in Connecticut!  I can’t wait!!!

 

7 Responses to “I just can’t hide it!!”

  1. beanie Says:

    Woot! sounds like fun! Have a great time!!

  2. poolagirl Says:

    That is amazing! Hooray!

  3. SJAT Says:

    Fantastic Blue. Have fun. And I don’t know about rare in the 80s’ but my grandfather brought my mother up on his own in the 50s after a divorce!!!

  4. I recognized Kurt right away! You’d think I’d hung out in your house or something.

    How cute is Ernest Borgnine?!!! He looks amazing for his age! Now you guys needs to watch Marty, if you haven’t seen it already.

    Have fun with Caroline!

  5. terri t. Says:

    Great picture for Kurt’s scrapbook of memories….and how about Ernest Borgnine…?

    Hope you have a wonderful visit with your friend and catch up on all those 5-1/2 years.

  6. yankeechick Says:

    How awesome for Kurt! I do think it’s Ernie’s lovely wife, Tova, that keeps him so ‘young’.

    Have a wonderful time with Caroline. There’s nothing like having a life long friend like that!

  7. Wow – what an amazing day! Enjoy your time with your friend. Talking nonstop is inevitable – why fight it? You’ve got years to catch up on!


Leave a Reply

