The Mind of Bluesleepy

And all through Sept 8 September 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:27 pm

I have some terrible news.  We totally forgot about the women’s skillet toss at the Maine fair on Saturday!  Oops.  In our defense, we were so hungry, absolutely ravenous, that the only thing we could think about once we arrived at the fair was food.  Good thing fair food is so delicious!  I indulged in some really delicious clam cakes (not to be confused with crab cakes — these are more like fritters or hush puppies, only with clams) and a yummy bloomin’ onion.

NOM.

The fair itself was great, as old-timey fairs tend to be.  We took in the cow judging for 4-H and saw a Jersey cow crowned Best In Show.  When she won her category, she decided to release her bladder as she was having her photo taken with her handler.  Gotta love cows!  At least it’s better than what we saw with a buffalo in Yellowstone on our way across country.  You people do not need to know what the buffalo was doing, but let me tell you — that image is seared into my brain for the rest of my life.

Yuck.

Anyhoo, our trip to Maine was absolutely lovely.  Of course it would be; our hosts are such great people.  It was really the perfect weekend — the weather cooperated to the fullest, the company was great, the food was delicious and the beer free-flowing.  Also the kids behaved pretty well, though Grace managed to need a corner on Sunday morning, and Mary Ellen decided to face-plant onto the asphalt sidewalk off a small hill.  Plus Kurt got to wield wire cutters, which is always a banner day in his book.  That’s the only problem with his being an instructor.  He never gets to do his actual job for the Navy anymore.  Poor guy.  His hands are always clean!!!

(Yes, my husband is an electrician, but he also works on the engines that propel the ship.  This means that one moment he can be playing with circuit boards, and the next moment have his hands covered in oil.  And when his hands are dirty, he is in fat city.  Seriously.)

I managed to snag a few good photos, though my brain isn’t really in the whole photographing mode at the moment.  I’m not sure why; it seems like some wire has gotten unplugged in my head.  Maybe one day it’ll plug back in.  Hopefully soon.  I have that whole “one photo a day” project going on; I can’t be slacking off.

Anyhow, so part of our Maine trip involved a detour to see the Portland Head Light, one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world.  It sure is a beauty!

Portland Head Light

Isn’t it, though?  Apparently Henry Wadsworth Longfellow used to enjoy walking down to the light and hanging out with the keepers, and he even based one of his poems on it.

You might not be able to see it in the photo above, but off on the right side of the photo, behind the light, is another lighthouse, an abandoned one.  It is super, super creepy.

Creepy

Doesn’t that just look haunted??  Yeeeesh.  You couldn’t pay me enough money to stay there overnight, that’s for sure.

What about you, could you stay there overnight??  I’ll leave it to the braver folks among us.

 

8 Responses to “And all through Sept”

  1. SJAT Says:

    Hell yeah. I’d love to stay overnight in that light house. So long as it’s inside, and not out on the top where my vertigo would make me sit on the floor and hug my knees.

    Oh, and cows are deceiving. Wifey’s a bovophobe these days. Strange for a true country girl. Ever since her bovophobic tendencies started to surface, I’ve persuaded her that the cows gather in groups to talk behind her back.

    I love playing this game.

  2. poolagirl Says:

    Oh! I would love to stay in that lighthouse overnight! YESSSS! But then again, SJAT and I are fools.

  3. SJAT Says:

    I spy Blair Witch 3 on the horizon…

  4. beccasfamilyof5 Says:

    You live in such a beauriful area! I love your pics. That first lighthouse is great and the second I would give it a go. I know I’m weird, but one of my lifes ambitions would be that if I go to America again, the one trip I would HAVE to do is visit Alcatraz. I am a little drawn to the dark histories of places. I’ve always been fascinated by Jack The Ripper and The Tower of London, so it’s all a bit eerie. But its what makes these places and people interesting. x

  5. SJAT Says:

    Ah, good old Jack. But I find Springheeled Jack more fascinating…

  6. bluesleepy Says:

    Ohhhh Becca. I’m totally with you on that. I have been fascinated by Jack the Ripper and his ilk my entire life. OK, you Brits come visit, and I’ll head out to the West Coast with y’all. I’m still not spending the night at the haunted lighthouse, however.

  7. twisterjester Says:

    I love the lighthouses!  They’re beautiful, even the haunted one.  As to staying at the haunted one, I don’t think it would bother me much.  Sometimes you just have to let the ghosts know who’s boss!

  8. terri t. Says:

    Loved the photos and the stories. ME looked adorable in the her summer outfit with the winter accessories…so cute…


Leave a Reply

