The Mind of Bluesleepy

I know they’re watching 30 September 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:28 am

Last night I ran into a bit of frustration.  I could not, for the life of me, get third-party apps to work on Facebook.  While this isn’t a huge deal (I think I am over FarmVille and Fish World already), I was rather distraught over the loss of Word Twist and Scrabble.  I need some Word Twist in my life!  I kept getting this odd redirect error on Firefox, and a search of the All-Knowing Interwebz led me to believe it was an issue with Firefox, especially since I could get my apps to work on IE.

Apparently that was a fluke, however.  After deleting my history, my cookies, and eventually completely wiping Firefox off my system and starting with a new installation, I was still back at square one.  I downloaded Safari with the hopes that maybe that would work.  I got the same error.  That’s when I tried IE again and got nowhere.

Hmm.

Kurt logged into his Facebook account on this computer, while I tried mine on his, and while he could successfully check on his mob, I couldn’t get anywhere with my apps.  A-ha!  Obviously it wasn’t me, it was my FB account.

Well, as long as we’ve got that sorted out.

That’s when I tried to scope out FB’s help forum, which is an utter laugh.  I found about a hundred postings in a thread all about the error I was getting, but the last post really took the cake.  Apparently this woman emailed Facebook to let them know about this error, and they emailed her back to tell her her question had been answered in the forum.  They included a link — back to the thread in which everyone complained about the issue, but had nothing regarding whether it was being fixed or even worked on!

Look, I know FB is a free service, and as such, I won’t complain about it too much.  I’m not one of those people who knee-jerks and says, “I WILL NEVER USE YOUR SITE EVER AGAIN” (or “buy products from your company” or “patronize your business” — whatever the situation calls for) because most of the time, it’s a one-time fluke.  I was searching for something on Amazon yesterday, and the product I was looking at received one star in the sole review it had garnered only because the customer had gotten screwed over by the company he bought it from through Amazon.  But most people aren’t going to read the review to realize the issue wasn’t due to the product; they’re just going to see one star and move on.

The world could use a bit more patience and understanding, is what I’m saying.

The thing is, though, I think FB could do its users a huge service and at least pretend to address their users’ issues, instead of making them think that it’s just about impossible to get any kind of resolution.  Take, for example, Flickr.  There are people that are crazy obsessed with their Flickr, worse than I am.  And when Flickr goes down, which is rarely, they freak the heck out.  But here’s the thing — there are help forums that are easy to find and navigate (unlike FB’s) in which one can post about a technical problem and have a staff member respond at some point to reassure the users that they’re aware of the problem and working on it.  Usually the subsequent postings are encouraging and grateful that Flickr is doing such a great job of trouble-shooting.

What FB could do is post a link under the help menu with “Known Bugs and Issues” or something along those lines, or maybe even have a link on the front page that says, “Having technical issues?  Click here” that will take you to the troubleshooting page, in which users can post about their problems.  And then FB can have a staff member or even a volunteer with direct access to FB’s technical department post something like, “Thanks for letting us know about the issue!  We’re aware of it and are working diligently on this problem.”  I mean, it doesn’t even have to be true.  But I guarantee it’ll ramp down the jerky responses of “FB SUX! I’m moving to MySpace!” and also help to make users feel more secure.

But what do I know?

Anyhow.

So Mary Ellen is one year old already, and yesterday she had her well-baby check-up.  She is a big baby, that’s for sure!  She came out to 23½lbs and 29¾” tall.  She’s something like 80th percentile for her weight and 66th percentile for her height.  That surprised me slightly; she looks awfully tall to me.

I’m amazed at the differing opinions among doctors.  My doctor thinks ME looks great, nice and healthy and perfect for a one-year-old girl.  Yet when we ran into a couple with a son just a couple months older than ME, and the exact same size, their pediatrician said their son looked like he was 2, and that he was too big for his age.  How does that even happen?  It’s not like you can control how a kid grows.

The little boy was dang cute, though, I must admit.  There’s just no resisting the cute ones!

 

4 Responses to “I know they’re watching”

  1. purple chai Says:

    Too big for his age? What a dopey thing to say. I had a student some years back who, at 16, was six-foot-seven. His mother said that when he was two and in a stroller, he looked four, and strangers were kind to her because they thought he was mentally handicapped. She thought it was a hoot, and so did the kid, when he heard about it years later. Maybe this doctor doesn’t know that some people are just bigger than other people. You’d think they’d teach that in medical school.

  2. cocoabean Says:

    Sounds like someone I know *ahem* who used to totally freak out when Diaryland would go down.. and threatened to go elsewhere, and did… and then freaked out when Pogo was down for a day….. Dude, it’s a website, it will go down, deal with it!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    Yeah I don’t get it either. Like when Gmail goes down. And everyone goes all a-twitter. ‘WHAT HAPPENED TO GMAIL OHEMGEEEEEE’

    It’s not the end of the world. *rolls eyes*

  4. terri t. Says:

    Yes, I feel your pain. I found myself being a bad mood, waking up that way and realized I was spending way too much time on FB. That’s why I am taking a month long break starting tomorrow. Hoping to get back into the blog world and reading real books again. Oh yes…I got a notice from my library that THE WHITE QUEEN is mine….just have to pick it up!


Leave a Reply

