The Mind of Bluesleepy

Seaspray and sun 25 October 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:40 pm

I’m sooooo far behind on my photos.  I have taken over 100 photos every day that I have been here, and I just can’t keep up.  Granted, I don’t post all 100 photos because that would be boring.  But I still have to go through them all, and write descriptions and tags, and upload them.  It’s a lot of work.  So I’m only up to Friday afternoon’s photos.  Maybe if I have time I’ll be able to post the photos from Poolie’s party on Friday night and start on Saturday’s photos from the road rally.

Man, that road rally.  How cool was that?!  All this gorgeous desert landscape, stuff that your average tourist to San Diego won’t ever get to see.  This is why I am so glad I got to stay with people who live in the city.  I have seen so much of San Diego, all sorts of lovely things, not just your normal touristy things.  It’s been fabulous.

I’m going to have to devote a whole entry to the road rally when I get back home to Newport.  Seeing those bright, sunny photos, and remembering how much fun we had, will really cheer me up when I get back to the grey, dismal weather we’ve been having back home.

Last night was so much fun.  The girls came over to Beanie’s, and we played the word association game where one person says a word, and the next person in line says the first thing that pops into her head.  As you can imagine, it got very silly, and very funny.  I almost peed myself laughing several times.  Then it was time to roast the puffies, which didn’t work quite as well as it did in Tombstone, mainly because we couldn’t walk down the main street with our flaming puffies and our sashes.  Maybe next year if we have it in a different location it’ll work better.  But we did it, even with our limitations, so the tradition has been maintained.

And the weather here has been simply amazing.  Today it was just Beanie and me, bumming around San Diego.  We started off by going to this place called El Indio for lunch, though we got a wee bit turned around, giving me an awesome tour of a good portion of the city.  I miss Mexican food so, so much.  We can’t get any back in Rhode Island, not since our favorite place shut down in Dartmouth, Massachusetts.  My mission while here was to eat my own weight in Mexican food, and I’m doing a pretty good job of it.  Fortunately, you can’t turn around in San Diego without hitting a little hole-in-the-wall Mexican joint, so it hasn’t been hard to carry out my mission.  Today’s menu included a chile relleno which was quite good, along with very delicious hot salsa.  NOM.

Then it was off to La Jolla.  We’d planned to roast the puffies down on the beach at night, but we were all so wiped out from the road rally and all the sun and fresh air that we had it at Beanie’s instead.  The water down at La Jolla almost looks like the photos I’ve seen of Hawaii!  You can definitely see the different depths because of the different colors in the water itself.  We walked down quite a ways, smelling the salt air and watching the folks who’d come to the beach to play, until we got down to the cove where the seals live.  Everyone was on this little walkway that sticks quite a ways into the water to allow you to get up close and personal with the seals without disturbing them, so we made our way down there to get some photos for the scavenger hunt.  But instead of watching the seals intently, I was the only one facing out to sea, watching the waves crash against the shore and each other.  A wave would come and crash against the walkway, which would force it back out to sea, where it would meet an incoming wave with great force.  It was AWESOME.  I couldn’t stop watching it and enjoying the salt spray.

My camera didn’t like how bright the ocean was, so instead I will share with you a video I took of the seals on the beach.  They’re so cute!

As if that weren’t sea air enough, we then made our way down to Belmont Park, right there on Mission Beach.  This time I didn’t get my feet wet in the ocean, though I had done that over at La Jolla.  So now I can finally say I have stuck my feet in both oceans!  I lived for four and a half years in Washington state, yet I never made it to the coast.  Sad.  Beanie and I shared an ice cream cone and talked about everything and anything as we enjoyed the sun and the air and all the folks hanging out at the beach.  I couldn’t ask for a better day.

Now I’m about to get ready to meet up with my best friend from high school!!  I cannot wait to see her. It’s been eleven years.  It’ll be so fun to catch up with her.

 

3 Responses to “Seaspray and sun”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    We had a great day!

  2. poolagirl Says:

    Great day here too even though it was quiet and sleepy. Some days are just like that.


Leave a Reply

