The Mind of Bluesleepy

When she walked away 29 October 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:22 pm

Hallelujah, praise the Lord, and pass the ammunition!  I have found that which I was looking for!!  Of course, it took me placing an order over at Amazon.com before I found it, but that’s how the cookie crumbles sometimes.

Did I mention I have a new iPod Touch?  Well, I do.  My husband bought it for me for our eight-year anniversary back on the 12th.  I love love love this thing.  I could whip it out and check my email while I was staying at Beanie’s without starting up my entire computer (yes, I ultimately took the laptop, mainly for ease of photo uploading while I was in San Diego — not that I actually had time to do that), and I even snuck onto a hotel’s WiFi connection while I was at dinner with my best friend from high school so I could show her what my brother looks like now.  The last time she saw him, he was still in elementary school.  Now he’s almost 21, so there was a bit of a change.

He doesn’t even look 21, which is the problem.  The last photo I have of him online is from two years ago, so he was only 18.  Yet he looks at least 25 and could easily pass for my older brother, since I only look about 20 years old myself.

I bet he never ever ever gets carded.

Anyhoo, I was searching high and low for my Dave Matthews Band CD, my copy of Under the Table and Dreaming, as that is one of my all-time favorite albums.  I cannot tell you which song is my favorite because I love them all.  Technically my absolute favorite is “Satellite,” but there isn’t one bad song on that album, not even “Ants Marching,” which radio stations (XM included) have played into the ground.

It’s played at least once every couple of hours on XM.  I kid you not.  And this is a song that came out in 1994, or thereabouts, so it’s not even worthy of overplaying at this point in time.

Alas, I could not locate that album before I left for San Diego, so it was up to Metallica and Apocalyptica and the Dixie Chicks and the Black Eyed Peas and Los Lonely  Boys and Mika and the Dresden Dolls and the Beatles and the Barenaked Ladies to keep me entertained.  Yes, I have a very eclectic taste in music.  That’s one of the reasons I was so drawn to Kurt.  Who else, besides me, would have Paula Abdul and Metallica in the same CD case?

He did.

Anyhow, that CD is, as I have mentioned, one of my ultimate favorites, and one I want to have a hard copy of.  So Kurt finally told me I should buy a new copy.  I checked the Best Buy near my house (yes, yes, I know, it’s the Evil Blue Empire, but it’s literally around the corner from my house) — no dice, though I did manage to pick up a 2009 remastered digital copy of The Beatles’ White Album for just $13.  SCORE!  I looked at Target earlier this week.  I even had plans to make my way down to the record store in Newport.  Finally I gave up and put in an order to Amazon, along with a copy of an album by the band The Hours.

But then today I remembered I wanted more Los Lonely Boys on my iPod, and I recalled there was a bunch of loose CDs under our tv.  So I dove under there, only to find not only my Los Lonely Boys CD but also Under the Table and Dreaming.  WOO HOO!!  Fortunately my order hadn’t yet shipped from Amazon, and I was able to cancel it.  That means I still do not own The Hours.

But I will.  Oh I am sure I will.

I’ve had my iPod on shuffle pretty much all day today, with my little mini speaker plugged in so I can hear it.  A few moments ago, Bon Jovi’s “Ride Cowboy Ride” just came on as Dave Matthews Band was ending, and my ears perked up.  See, the beginning of “Ride Cowboy Ride” includes the sound of a phonograph needle hitting the record, along with the pregnant pause just before the song begins.  I hadn’t realized how much I missed that sound until that song came on — and it came through in such clarity on my digital iPod.

My real mom had a slew of records when I was growing up, so listening to records wasn’t an unusual thing for us.  I even have some of my own, though during my foraging for CDs to rip to my iPod, I found my LP of Bon Jovi’s Slippery When Wet broken in half.  I wanted to weep.  It must have happened during one of the moves.  I’m sure one of the packers just shoved it into a box instead of packing it gently.

I guess it shouldn’t matter.  I don’t have a record player anyhow, though I keep wanting to bring one home from the thrift store.  Maybe one day I’ll have one.  There’s just something about listening to music on vinyl.  It’s not quite as portable as an iPod, but it sure has more of an aesthetic quality about it.

I guess I really am an old fuddy-duddy.

 

4 Responses to “When she walked away”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    I have LPs, just nothing to play them on. No needle on my turntable, and no connection to the rest of the system. I either need a new turntable, or I have to get this one fixed. I keep waiting for Freecycle to have one….

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    I would LOVE a record player. But I can’t remember the last time I saw and LP and building up a collection is probably going to be suuuper expensive.

    So you believe I don’t own one Dave Matthews Band CD? It’s time I add to my collection of music I think.

  3. terri t. Says:

    that reminds me, we still have some LPs in a cabinet….Lots of Barbra Streisand, soundtracks from the James Bond movies and Clint Eastwood spaghetti westerns….. and we have a turntable that is hooked up but hasn’t been played in years…years I say!

  4. twisterjester Says:

    Actually I know several sources of vinyl. There’s a thrift store near hear that has a pretty respectable collection AND they’re dirt cheap. I’ll try and remember to watch for them. And a record player too, while I’m at it.


Leave a Reply

