The Mind of Bluesleepy

Bathroom on the right 7 November 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:41 pm

310: Bad moon on the rise

Tell me I’m not the only one to have misheard that lyric when I was a kid.  I’m sure it’s a common thing, common enough to make my friend and I giggle during a football game yesterday.

Oh we were so bad last night.  Our team was doing quite well, which is the norm and not the exception, but our cheerleading team was something else.  They were far more interested in gossiping with each other than keeping the crowd excited.  It got to the point where I would start a cheer by my own self with my friend joining in.  We got a few dirty looks from the cheerleading coach, but it didn’t compel her to get the girls cheering.

The other team had, in addition to their cheer squad, a dance team.  And all our boys could do throughout halftime was stare with undisguised longing at those girls as they romped across the field.

Ahhh, teenage hormones.  Gotta love it.

It was just after halftime that the moon started to rise, and it really was that angry, orange color.  It was pretty creepy, to tell the truth.  The color faded as it rose in the sky, so by the time we left the game, it was almost its normal white. I’ve noticed that orange-red moons seem to be rather common here in Rhode Island.  I tried running one down a year or so ago, but failed in photographing it because I didn’t have my big camera on me.  A shock, I know.  This I took with the big camera and my 55-200mm zoom lens, and even then, I had to take something like fifteen shots before I was satisfied with this one.

Thank goodness for digital.  I love being able to see whether I’ve gotten the shot or not, especially with night shots.  They’re so easy to mess up.  My first try at that shot was horrible — too bright, too noisy, and way too blurry.  I doubled the shutter speed, stood as still as I could, and braced the long lens as best as I could, and voila!  A pretty shot.

Seeing as technology has been failing me as of late (what with popping streetlights and randomly broken point-and-shoot cameras and now my computer that likes to take forever to start up a new program), it was quite nice to have it work for me gloriously well this morning.  I got to sleep in, thanks to my lovely husband who got up with the girls this morning and allowed me to sink back into my dreamworld, so it was late by the time I made it out to the living room.  I checked my email, Facebook, Twitter — and there on my Twitter was a tweet from a friend who said he was on his way to Boston for the weekend.  I immediately sent him a direct message, assuming it would go straight to his phone as a text since he had tweeted by text, and he sent back his cell phone number so we could keep in more direct contact.  All this turned into a random jaunt up to the big city, where we were foiled by the prospect of delicious mac n’ cheese.  How does a restaurant justify being closed on a Saturday afternoon??

Oh, well.  The weather was lovely, the company engaging and entertaining, and the food, when we finally found a place to eat, quite scrumptious.  It was my first time meeting my friend’s wife, though I’ve known him since we were both fifteen and sophomores in high school.  We went to the same college and graduated with the same degree, but after college he went on to law school in New York while I married Kurt.   I was supposed to go to their wedding last summer, but my cousin was married that same weekend.  And hindsight being 20/20, it was probably a good thing I didn’t try to go to both weddings, as I gave birth to Mary Ellen just a week later.  Everyone was shocked I went to Aubrey’s wedding at all, being so huge and all.  Folks, I was just pregnant.  Not sick.  It wasn’t that big a deal to go to her wedding, and I’m so glad I did.

I put my Stamp of Approval on my friend’s wife tonight.  How could I not?  She’s going for her Master’s in Library Science, and anyone with an MLS is way cool in my book.  Maybe one day I’ll hie myself back to school and procure an MLS for my own self.  One day…

 

12 Responses to “Bathroom on the right”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    nice moon! wish I’d had my camera with me today!

  2. Katherine Says:

    Great moon and great plan. I have an MLS and believe you would be a rockin’ librarian. Of course, librarians just rock any old way.

  3. poolagirl Says:

    FABOO moon! It’s a storytelling moon for sure!

  4. terri t. Says:

    Hurrah for the great photo of the red/orange moon….and loved the food photos too….yummy, you find the best places to eat….

    • bluesleepy Says:

      It was Restaurant Week here in Newport last week, which meant the fancy restaurants had fixed menu for lunch and dinner that was much cheaper than their normal prices. So my friend and I went down to the Spiced Pear for lunch one afternoon. So Good.

  5. YankeeChick Says:

    Fabulous photo!! I MUST get my DSLR out and work it!!!

  6. SJAT Says:

    I have so much trouble taking night-time moon-type shots I usually just give up. Nice shot.

    • bluesleepy Says:

      I had no plans to try to shoot the moon that night, but my photography friend kept bugging me since he’d left his big rig at home. And the only reason it turned out so well is because it was such a weird color. If it had been its normal white, there would have been no way it would have turned out. Thanks for the compliment!

  7. LA Says:

    ‘Scuse me while I kiss this guy.

    Thanks for the CCR ear worm, MUCH better than the previous one running around my brain. (Don’t ask. It’s even worse than the Barney ‘I Love You’ song.) ~LA

  8. Sherbs Says:

    Thanks for the stamp! 🙂 It was wonderful finally meeting you too!! We’ll have to do it again soon!!!

  9. cardiogirl Says:

    That moon looks exactly like a piece of cheese up on the sky. I’m extremely impressed that you were able to get a clear picture with no tripod. Way to go!

    I want you performing neurosurgery on me the next time we are shipwrecked and I need a craniotomy.


Leave a Reply

