The Mind of Bluesleepy

Still alive through the raging glow 10 December 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:18 pm

So my husband says to me, “Hey, can you make bulgogi for the Chiefs’ luncheon tomorrow?”

Ordinarily I wouldn’t have minded, but today was just one of those days.  You know the ones, the ones where nothing goes right and everyone’s irritated at you and you’re irritated at everyone.  That, and bulgogi doesn’t taste as good, in my humble opinion, when it’s been reheated the next day.

What, you ask, is bulgogi?  It’s a Korean dish involving marinated and grilled sliced beef.  My best friend Caroline, who is half-Korean, taught me how to make it, but apparently I make the homestyle version. When we’ve gone out to a restaurant, the beef has been, for lack of a better word, naked.  No sauce.  My bulgogi is beef covered with a sticky, spicy, sweet sauce, and it’s eaten rolled up with rice in leaves of lettuce.  So, so good.  Kurt loves it and begs me to make it at least once a month.

When he found out about this Chiefs’ luncheon, that’s the first thing he thought of.  And he begged and pleaded and cajoled until I gave in.  Plus he stopped at the commissary to buy the ingredients, so how could I refuse?

It was decided that I’d have to set the bulgogi to marinating tonight, and Kurt offered to cook it up before we went to bed.  Once he got to work, he’d put it in a crockpot so it’d be warmed by lunchtime.  That’s probably the best way to reheat bulgogi, come to think of it, because then it won’t be dried out like it gets when you nuke it in the microwave.

So here I was, slicing the beef at a diagonal against the grain to make nice thin, tender slices.  All of a sudden, WHOOSH!  There went the top of my left ring finger.  Well, almost anyhow.  I gashed it but good, let me tell you.  It bled and bled and bled and bled.  Kurt immediately went into panic mode, trying to find the Band-Aids and the medical tape and anything else to help me out.  I threw on a Band-Aid and some medical tape and a vinyl glove just so I could finish what I was doing.  But as I mixed the beef with the honey and the soy sauce and the smashed garlic and the scallions and the toasted sesame seeds and the gochujang, I could see blood welling up in the finger of my glove, even through the Band-Aid and the medical tape.  That freaked out Kurt even more, and he started talking about going to the ER.  I reassured him that there was nothing they could do for me; I sliced open the tip of my finger, which is nothing like the time he sliced open his left ring finger (funny that it was the same finger) while trying to fix my mushroom slicer.  His wound was on the side of his finger, between the second and third knuckles, and required three stitches.  That was cool, watching the nurse stitch him up, but I don’t think my wound is anything like that.  It’s just a little sliver of skin that’s sort of hanging there.  If it comes off, I’ll be fine.

It was still gross, though.  All that blood worried me a little bit, but it quit bleeding once I was done with the bulgogi.  I took off the first bandage, mainly because I had bled through it, but I did it carefully enough that I didn’t disturb the clot.  I spread some anti-bacterial stuff on the wound, covered it with a new bandage, and added more medical tape to keep it on.  Unfortunately my left ring finger is one of my most-used fingers on the keyboard when I’m typing, so it’s made communicating a little… interesting.  I guess I really should have taken typing back in 7th grade!

But the bulgogi is marinating, and it’ll get cooked here in a little bit by my very own sous chef.

I have more cooking to do tomorrow, as I have a party to go to.  My friend is throwing a get-together because one of our old friends from college is in town, and since she just moved into her very own home, she doesn’t have a whole lot of kitchenware.  That, and I like to cook!  So I am going to make Smitten Kitchen’s salted brown butter Rice Krispie Treats, which are absolutely divine.  I’m also thinking about making some whole wheat-molasses bread, just because it’s so good, and when I get there, I’ll make some buffalo chicken dip and some Muddy Buddies.  Mmm yum!  And I’m planning on making some caipirinhas, which are Brazilian rum sours.  They are super yummy, and I think they’ll go over well.  I hope, anyhow.

The best part of all of this?  It’s a slumber party!  So I’ll be staying at my friend’s house for the whole evening and into the night, so I don’t have to worry about driving, and I get some me time away from the family.  I’ve been somewhat spoiled this week, in that I went out last night to dinner, drinks, and a movie with my friend, but hey, I did all kinds of housework today to alleviate some of the guilt.  Besides, soon enough Kurt will be heading back out on deployments, and I won’t have the opportunity for this sort of thing because I will be, for all intents and purposes, be a single mom.  So I have to get it out of my system now, you see.

Hopefully my finger will be healed enough by tomorrow morning so I won’t bleed all over myself as I’m getting ready.  I have a party to get to!  There’s no room for finger wounds!

 

3 Responses to “Still alive through the raging glow”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    I still want pictures. And the recipe for the rice krispie treats. Yum!

  2. cardiogirl Says:

    I’m sorry to hear the finger took a massive lickin’ while preparing the bulgogi, but man that sounds delicious. (The bulgogi, not your finger.)

    Enjoy your slumber party and the Rice Krispie treats. Come to think of it, it might be time for some Rice Krispie treats here at Cardiogirl Manor.

  3. terri t. Says:

    Ouchie…..you deserve a slumber party away from home after hurting yourself making a dish for Kurt’s party. Hope it turned out just great…I imagine you have a reputation of good cooking to uphold these days.


Leave a Reply

