The Mind of Bluesleepy

Of couch time and football 13 December 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:59 pm

I feel like crap today. In fact, it is 3pm and I am still in my jammies. If that weren’t bad enough, I am laying on the couch composing this post on my iPod because I just cannot handle being too upright at the moment. I am snuggled up under Kurt’s old quilt with football on the tv, and I conned Kurt into going to Walmart for me to pick up some more stuff for Christmas. Now I have my photos to insert into my Christmas cards, and Grace and I were able to bake some salt-dough ornaments as gifts for the grandparents. Later tonight we will paint them, but I’ll have to rest up for that first. Fortunately Kurt has offered to make dinner, and I am mostly caught up on housework.

The party on Friday went quite well!! It was so grand hanging out with my friends from college. It has been eight gets since I’ve seen everyone, but it was just like old times. My salted brown butter Rice Krispy treats were a huge hit; my friends just could not stop eating them. I never did get around to making bread, but I did make Muddy Buddies (Chex cereal coated with chocolate and peanut butter and dusted with powdered sugar) and buffalo chicken dip. Sooooo good. We watched Zombieland — well, everyone else did. It’s a funny movie, but a bit too gory for me. I am a wuss when it comes to Hollywood gore. No horror movies for me!!!

I really wanted to spend more time up in Boston with my friends, but it was time to come home and act like a responsible adult once more. Kurt had agreed to meet his friends at the Christmas festival on the base, and the girls were so excited to see Santa. As soon as I drove up, it was time for us to head to the base.

It’s really starting to feel like Christmas over here. Grace made some incredibly cute decorations at the party last night, and she has been helping me wrap presents and get them under the tree. I love this time of year so much. I am not sure why, since it was rarely a happy time in our house when we were growing up. My dad has a lot of issues with his childhood, and the holidays were never a pleasant time for him as a result. And if Daddy ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy. You’d think I’d hate the holidays too, but I love them. There is so much magic and hope in the air. It feels like anything is possible, if only we all believe.

Now if only the snow would start falling, my life would be complete.

 

3 Responses to “Of couch time and football”

  1. poolagirl Says:

    You might get a ton of snow if our storms make it all the way to you! Beware! Feel better soon, kiddo.

  2. SJAT Says:

    Time someone created a gory Christmas zombie movie, methinks. Hmmm.

  3. terri t. Says:

    It’s great that you enjoy the holidays and are making them so special for your girls. Making memories is key…


Leave a Reply

