The Mind of Bluesleepy

Half of what I say is meaningless 20 December 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:25 pm

Almost a week since I posted??  Good grief.  I used to be so good at this.  Honestly I have been stinkin’ busy, so that’s not entirely a bad thing.  And my life will only get busier, what with my parents and my sister and her husband arriving on Wednesday.  It’ll be a full house over at Chez Bluesleepy!

The snow was scheduled to start falling about 4pm yesterday.  I guess Mother Nature enjoys a wee bit of procrastination, since the snow didn’t arrive till after 8:30.  But it arrived with a vengeance!  The snow was really coming down, and we had a good foot on the ground by the time we went to bed around midnight.  By this morning, we’d gotten an official 20″.

I am in heaven.

I really like snow.  I guess I am still enough of a kid to get excited to see it falling from the sky, to think about frolicking in it and throwing snowballs and making snowmen.  Even if all I do is stay inside and admire the beauty, that’s enough for me.  I don’t even mind shoveling it, though Kurt’s done it for me this time, because I look at it as just another chore that has to be done over and over again.  I mean, I have to mop the floor every other day all year ’round; I can handle shoveling a few times each winter.  This snow was easy to shovel, too — very light and fluffy and easily flung out of the way.

Maybe if I had to do it winter after winter after winter for all of my years, it would get to me more.  But there’s just a certain beauty to snow, a blurring of lines, a gentling of the scenery, a certain etherealness to it all.  There’s just no other way to achieve it, and it’s so fleeting as well.  How long does snow last?  I was a senior in college in Virginia one winter, and it began snowing on my way to class, even sticking a little bit.  But a couple hours later there was no trace of the snow, no sign to show it had snowed at all.  People who had been in class the whole time wouldn’t believe those of us who had seen the snow; they thought we were putting them on.

Sure, snow can be a right pain in the ass, but sometimes I think we just like to complain.  In the summer it’s too hot, in the winter it’s too cold and snowy.  Granted, I don’t live in an area where it’s snowy from September through May, nor do we get excessive amounts of snow, and I would probably want to shoot myself if I did.  But living in my nice, temperate climate, I will enjoy what I have for the fleeting time I have it.

Besides, we’ve already established I am NOT  a warm-weather fan.

Tonight I made the perfect dinner for such a cold, snowy, wintry day — Curried Chicken Pot Pie.  It’s absolutely divine!  My two favorites combined into one pot — I adore pot pie, and curry is just so delicious.  Plus I had most of the ingredients already on hand, which is a good thing when you consider the 20″ of snow that’s covering the ground.  The weathermen were insisting that the roads weren’t bad at all, since it didn’t ice over before it started to snow, but I was thinking that most parking lots wouldn’t be plowed.  And getting stuck in a parking lot isn’t my idea of a good time.  I’ll pass, thanks.

In the midst of making dinner, though, I stumbled upon an awesome little science experiment that catapulted me back to fifth grade.  We were living in Illinois at the time, and my teacher, who we called Mrs G., as she had a rather unwieldy last name, decided to do something fun.  She had us bring in empty peanut butter jars for this project, and of course I ended up bringing in the super ginormous Sam’s Club three-pound tub of peanut butter.  Gotta love bulk shopping when you’re a kid.  Anyhow, we measured out water, and we measured our cornstarch, and we mixed the two things in our jars.  And voila!  We had a non-Newtonian fluid.  In the case of cornstarch and water, when you apply a great deal of force, like banging it with a spoon, it acts like a solid. But treat it gently, by resting your spoon on the surface, and your spoon will gently sink into the liquid.  Today I accidentally recreated that fluid by mixing together two tablespoons of cornstarch with one tablespoon of water.  I couldn’t stop playing with it either!  It was just as I remembered it.  That experiment has stuck with me so vividly, to the point where I remember telling Kurt all about it a while ago, long before I recreated it tonight.

So for all of you teachers that despair that we students remember anything, know this — WE DO.  I loved Mrs G., I really did.  She was the teacher that would have a container of peanuts on her desk, and when it was time to practice our mental math, or to answer questions on what we’d just read, she would lob peanuts at us as rewards.  (Of course, you couldn’t do that now, not with the incidence of peanut allergies.)  She treated all of her students with dignity and respect, but never once lost control of her classroom.  She was so gentle with me too, back when I had so many issues of all kinds, and never once made me feel embarrassed or unworthy.  She was a fantastic teacher.  I should really ask to see what ever happened to her.

And on that note, I leave with you my last photo of the day — sunset from my backyard, with the Pell Bridge silhouetted against the sunset:

354: Snowy sunset

 

7 Responses to “Half of what I say is meaningless”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    Oh what a beautiful picture! As for shoveling snow, it is a totally mindless job, and if you want to just zone out for a while, it’s not too bad of a chore, especially if you wait until the sun is shining. I remember shoveling snow in just a sweatshirt. It definitely is warm work!

  2. poolagirl Says:

    That picture is completely and totally and utterly fantastic and amazing and brilliant and breathtaking and swell! I really like it! Enjoy your snow!

  3. SJAT Says:

    Lovely pic, Blue. And I also love non-Newtonian liquids

  4. beccasfamilyof5 Says:

    I have missed your updates but have been AWOL myself, we have alot of snow here too but it’s getting me down since I’m feeling trapped now. Agh!! First couple days were ok, but now on day 5 it’s frustrating. It is beautiful but the novelty really has worn off!

  5. terri t. Says:

    I like the type of snow you describe when you are all warm and snuggly in the house with a good book and snacks to eat….but in our area, it’s only a few hours until the cars are turning the lovely white glistening snow to dirty, icky, piles of slush….that’s not so much fun.

    Hope you have a grand holiday with your relatives and that they appreciate the snow too.

  6. LA Says:

    What a gorgeous picture! Thank you for sharing it. ~LA

  7. Kitty Says:

    Omigosh, that sunset is just to DIE for!!! And kudos to your camera for catching all of the colors just so!! It looks like a postcard!! *gush*


Leave a Reply

