The Mind of Bluesleepy

And time goes by… 26 March 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:43 am

Sorry, folks, but the Righteous Brothers are wrong.  Time does not go by so slowly.  How is already the end of March?  Where has the time gone?  It feels like just last week I was anxiously awaiting the arrival of my friends Chelle and Traci for a visit here to Newport, anxious only because I’d not yet met Traci before in the flesh.  But that was already nearly a year ago.

How is that even possible?

I know days and days are going by without my writing.  But as quickly as time is passing, it feels like nothing of import is happening.  I wake up, I take care of the kids, I do my housework, I cook dinner, I watch tv with Kurt in the evening, we go to bed — and the same thing happens all over again the next day.  Mind you, I am not complaining about my life.  I enjoy my uneventful, relatively stress-free life.  It just doesn’t feel like I have much to write about here.

But the time zooming by is stressing me out.  It feels like it’s slipping through my fingers, and the harder I’m trying to grasp at it, the faster it slips through.  I cannot believe that in four or five months I’ll leave Rhode Island for good.  That fact in itself is making me sad.  I have really enjoyed my time here, and though I enjoy Virginia, I will really miss my time in New England.  We’ve got so much to do and see still.  I still haven’t managed to get up to Vermont, and we’ve only driven through New Hampshire to get to Maine.  There’s so much to Boston we haven’t seen, not least of which is the USS Constitution.  Connecticut is still virtually unexplored, unless you count a few random trips to Mystic — and no, we haven’t gone to Mystic Pizza, though I have photos of it.

I will also miss the freedom I have here.  I am very fortunate to have a husband who steps up and takes care of the kids as much as I do, and who is perfectly okay with my going out with my friends every so often.  We’ve recently learned that Kurt’s new ship in Virginia will be leaving on a six-month deployment, so as soon as we move down there, he’ll have to fly out to meet the ship somewhere.  In a way, it’s a good thing because it gets the deployment out of the way right off the bat, and he’ll miss about half of it.  Three months away is pretty manageable.  But it will be weird to have him gone so long when he’s been home for three years.

No more nights out with my girlfriends, though.

But of course every cloud has a silver lining.  My best friend lives in Virginia Beach, so I see many evenings spent together as our children play together.  Her husband is in Iraq right now, so it’ll just be us two together.  And that’s quite an exciting thing, considering the last time we lived close to one another was ten years ago — coincidentally in southern Virginia, though we’ve both lived in other states since then.

I just wish I could slow it down, just a tiny bit.  I’d like to feel like I have a bit more breathing room, a bit more time to just enjoy my time without feeling like I have to squeeze something out of every precious second.  But I fear that time is long gone now…

In other news, I have been eating my weight in delicious foods all week long.  It’s Restaurant Week here in Newport, which means that all the local restaurants have banded together and decided to offer three course menus for both lunch and dinner at reasonable prices, $16 for lunch and $30 for dinner.  When you consider that some of these places would offer one entree for over $30, you can see it’s an excellent deal.  My friends and I live for Restaurant Week, as it would be virtually impossible for us to afford meals at these places without relinquishing our first-born children.

To that end, I have visited three restaurants this week.  We chose the high-end ones to get the best deal.  I mean, I love the Brick Alley Pub as much as anyone, but I can go there any night of the week and spend less than $30 per person for dinner.  I wanted something fancy.

On Tuesday, my friends and I visited The White Horse Tavern.  It dates from 1673 and is the oldest venue in Newport.  I love it so much because it really feels like you’re traveling back in time.  And the food was really yummy!  We sat next to a window with original glass, and since it was such a dreary, rainy day, we really felt a cold draft wafting through that window.  My friend asked if we could be moved, but the waitress assured us she’d just put on the heat.  Boy howdy, did she ever!  I was sitting right on top of the heating vent, and by the end of the meal I was sweating pretty profusely.  But my friend was comfortable, so it came out even.

On Wednesday, my friends and I visited Restaurant Bouchard.  I had never before been to a French restaurant, but this was good!  Both of my friends opted for the pâté.  You know, I hate to say it, but I don’t think I’m a pâté kind of girl.  I have had foie gras, which was quite delicious, but pâté made from other kinds of livers is just too strong for me.  Oh well.  They were just glad not to have to share, I think.

But on our way there, we were behind a car that kept swerving angrily behind a white minivan.  Finally at a stoplight, the driver of the angry car stuck his arm out the window and flipped off the driver of the white minivan.  At that point, I decided to back off a little, not knowing what the crazy driver was going to do.  Later on, as we walked from the restaurant back to my car, my friend M insisted she saw the driver of the angry car in another restaurant downtown.  Fortified by both a martini and some wine, she marched into that restaurant and asked the guy if he’d been the one driving the angry car.  Only M thought the car was red, but the man insisted he drives a green car.  My friend E and I could not believe she’d confronted that man, even though he denied being the one.  I tell you what, though — the three of us would make horrible eyewitnesses.  I could have sworn the angry car was black, E insisted it was blue, and M thought it was red.

Please don’t call us to the stand.  We just can’t agree.

Last night, Kurt and I had some time to ourselves and had dinner at the Castle Hill Inn.  The early interventionist working with Mary Ellen goes there every year on her anniversary, so she clued us in on asking for the front room.  And what a view!  Water views from either direction, spread out in a panorama from my seat.  It was so lovely.  And the food!  Super amazing.  A+++ WOULD EAT AGAIN, as my friend would say.  Too bad I can’t afford to go there but once or twice a year during Restaurant Week…

If you’re interested in seeing what I had at these three restaurants, you can start at THIS PHOTO and then click on the next photo in the set.  Try not to drool over your computer monitors, however.

 

4 Responses to “And time goes by…”

  1. SJAT Says:

    I think the driver was a German. Like the car in the Dukes of Hazzard (whose name I shall not mention as it’s in my quiz) has the Confederate battle flag on the roof, this guy has THIS on his:

    http://flagspot.net/flags/de-ni_of.html

    Explains it all. You can all go on the stand and when asked if you swear to tell the truth, you can put hand on heart and say ‘Ich will’

  2. I am suitably jealous. The fanciest place we’ve eaten in forever is Olive Garden, lol!

  3. terri t. Says:

    As usual, the food photos made me feel so hungry….where’s that tuna salad I made a few days ago….?

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Man, reading that Kurt will be gone for six months as soon as you relocate makes me sad for you. However, you seem to be able to adapt to change pretty darn well.

    Lastly, how fun trying to identify the car after the fact! Too bad you weren’t able to find out for sure what color it was just to see who was correct.

    Also, I wonder if I would have noticed the guy’s watch (since it would have been his left arm out of the window) so I could see if it matched the guy in person.

    But in reality, I would have been hiding outside the restaurant while your friend went in to talk to him.


Leave a Reply

