The Mind of Bluesleepy

It’s apparent it’s all over 6 April 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:45 am

We must be the worst parents in the Universe.  My mother-in-law called on Sunday to wish the girls a happy Easter and asked what we’d done for them.  Answer?  Nothing.

Yikes.

My mom had sent some cute Easter clothes, so I let them open those gifts.  But other than that, we didn’t really get into the Easter festivities.  We didn’t color eggs, or have an Easter egg hunt, or make up Easter baskets.  For one thing, Kurt is pretty much anti-religion, and he has a hard time separating the Easter bunny from Jesus’ resurrection.  He also doesn’t see the point.

For that matter, neither do I.  My parents were pretty nonchalant about the Easter bunny thing.  I know we got Easter baskets, at least when they remembered.  But we did go to church and talk about the resurrection.  In fact, once we moved back to northern Virginia we’d attend the sunrise services at Arlington National Cemetery, which is a pretty moving service to attend.  And it’s so beautiful.

Also, Grace isn’t in school yet.  Sure, she goes to preschool, but since she only goes twice a week, I doubt the kids will be talking about what they got in their Easter baskets today at school.  That whole subject was probably covered in detail yesterday.  Once she starts kindergarten in the fall, however, I am sure it will be incumbent upon us to provide Easter baskets.  I’ll do it then, happily.  I just didn’t see the point this year.  Besides, we still have Halloween candy.

True story.

Since we don’t live anywhere near family, and since most of our friends had gone out of town, we decided it was a great day to wander around and find photos.  It was really a gorgeous day, which made shooting so enjoyable.  We headed over to the Tiverton area, which the little bit of Rhode Island that’s on the Massachusetts side of the mainland.  We ended up crossing the border into Massachusetts and back into Rhode Island at least four times.  I love teeny New England states.

Kurt’s goal was to find the ocean.  This was harder than it should have been, mainly because most of the waterfront property is privately owned, and there are signs posted everywhere that the roads and drives leading to the shoreline are all on private propert.  Dangit!  But we did finally manage to find some public access:

Rocky beach

Isn’t that pretty?  This was near Little Compton, RI.  If you squint, you can see all the way to the UK!  Haha, not really.  I think this was near where the shoreline runs more north and south than the expected east and west.  As we were leaving, however, an older lady was trying to navigate those rocks, which are actually quite large.  I wanted to hop out of the van and help her across to wherever she wanted to go; I was worried she’d break an ankle.  Knowing my luck, however, I would be the one with the broken ankle.  Hmph.

From there, we popped over to Westport, Massachusetts.  We just kept following these lovely little back roads.  In fact, I had exactly no idea where I was, but Kurt has a really good sense of direction.  Oh, and we had our GPS too.

Blooming

When I saw this little house as we turned the corner, I had to take a photo.  I love the bright red door against the white house, and that tree in bloom made me so happy.  And I adore the brightly-colored floats hanging on the wall of the garage.  Notice the fence — there are so many stone fences here in New England.  Some are even marking property lines that don’t even exist anymore.  It’s yet another thing I will miss about New England.

And then it was back to Rhode Island!

Post office

This was Gray’s General Store in Adamsville, built in 1788.  We’d passed it so many times over the last couple of years, but it never seemed to be open.  The sign outside said it sells antiques, but there isn’t a whole lot for sale there.  I’m guessing it’s just random knick-knacks the family no longer wants.  But it’s still fun to poke around inside.  The above photo is of the post office that used to be part of the general store.  It looks as though nothing’s changed in at least a hundred years.  I couldn’t resist taking a photo, though I really wish I had my wider lens because there was so much more in the office that I couldn’t fit into the frame.  Just in front of the adding machine on the left was a desk covered by old letters, for example.  It was just so neat!

Our last stop was in Westport Point, Massachusetts:

Lee's Wharf

There was a historical marker near this wharf that read: “Called Paquachuck by the Indians, this village thrived during the Whaling Era.  The original village existed on the Horseneck side, where Franklin D. Roosevelt would often come years later to improve his health.  In 740, the first point wharf was built and a shipyard for large vessels developed just east of it.  As many as eighteen ships were sailing from the Point in 1857 and numerous captains built their homes along Main Road.  The area contained a saltworks, sail lofts, coopers, blacksmiths, a saw mill, taverns, a custom house, and various stores.”   The street that led to the wharves was lined by stately old homes built in the mid to late 1700s by these captains that sailed from here, and in fact, as we passed the Methodist church and graveyard at the top of Main Street, I noticed a marker for the Cory family, as it was the largest one.  A few moments later, I passed Captain Cory’s house, a beautiful home built from the profits of his whaling journeys, I am assuming.

I am just amazed every day by how much history surrounds me.  We weren’t even looking for it, but here we stumbled across it yet again.  I have to say, it’s one of the reasons I’m glad to be on the East Coast once more.  There’s so much more history here.

 

5 Responses to “It’s apparent it’s all over”

  1. SJAT Says:

    Oh you have some lovely shots there, Blue. Just beautiful. And take heart… My inlaws seem to send Easter cards and do things that involve bunnies and little ducks and chocolate and so one, but my family never did. Just not Easter people, I guess.

  2. terri t. Says:

    Thanks for sharing the pictures…love that old stuff. The general store/post office reminds me of one of those treasure hunt games online where you have to find the 2 cent stamp or the piece of a chess set within so many minutes…

    And the Easter basket stuff…it’s just candy….obviously the girls don’t care that much about it. I used to give my son a coloring book and a new book of crayons (love them) or comic books in place of so much candy….

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    I have to say, I get Easter candy because *I* like chocolate and I tend to borrow from my kids’ baskets. And the EB leaves solid chocolate bunnies over here. None of this hollow stuff.

  4. michele Says:

    how ironic that you have the kids but i was the one who colored eggs! ha! (i just like being artistic truth be told!) 🙂

    great photos!

  5. LA Says:

    I’m wondering how Kurt manages a military career without religion. Does it hurt his assignments? Or is the Navy less loony about its personnel being bible thumping whack-a-doos? I know you don’t get far in the Army without mouthing endless platitudes about Jesus and demonstrating your faith by beating your wife, terrorizing your kids, and making sure everyone knows just how much you hate liberals, Yankees, minorities, gays, and any/everyone else who’s not exactly like you. ~LA


Leave a Reply

