The Mind of Bluesleepy

Let all this hope be history 13 August 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:05 am

I cannot tell you how pleased I am with the weather.  I am not a hot weather girl.  I am not one who likes to sit out on a sun-blazed beach, soaking up rays and sweating.  That’s not to say I don’t enjoy the water or being outside.  I just want to do it when it’s not insanely hot.

This has been a very unusual summer for Rhode Island.  We had to install the a/c units back in June, and they’ve been running nearly constantly since then.  The ocean breezes here on the island are supposed to keep us cooler than the mainland, which did happen this summer — except that the mainland was broiling even more than we were.

Right now it’s 69º, after having been in the low 60s overnight.  The windows are open, I can hear the birds twittering (and the rumbling of the heavy construction equipment in my neighborhood — grrr), and the breeze is divine.  I tell you, it doesn’t take much to please me.

On to news of the children!  I have to say, I am so glad I had two kids.  The way Grace plays with ME is so wonderful, and it takes a lot of the entertainment load off of me.  I’m so relaxed now with ME that I find myself playing with her and being silly with both my kids a lot more than I was with just Grace.  I think part of it is because having Grace helped me to find my inner child again, which makes it easier to play with ME.  And when I say I am more relaxed now with ME, I don’t mean because I was a paranoid momma with Grace.  In fact, my mom was always amazed at how calm I was with her, not being nervous that she was going to get hurt or whatever.  I figure, small injuries are part of being a kid.  If she gets a scraped knee, of course I pamper her and clean it up and stick a Band-Aid on it, but I’m not going to try to prevent her from scraping her knee at all.  My entire childhood I had scraped knees — mainly because I was outside playing, and enjoying every second of it.  My mom, on the other hand, says she was very protective of my brother, and was nervous every time it looked like he was going to topple over or hurt himself.

Also on the Grace front, I am so amazed and so pleased at how well she can read!  She pretty much taught herself.  I listen to her reading to herself, which she does a lot and of her own volition, and I’m always surprised at the big words she knows.  She’s well beyond Dr. Seuss and into longer books, and she loves to pretend to read some of my books.  We’re now working on her penmanship.  I’ve bought her several workbooks and I’m trying to teach her the rules of when to use upper-case letters and when to use lower-case.  She loves to do her “homework,” as her daddy calls it, which consists of doing as many pages of her workbook as she feels like.

She’s just so dang smart, and I’m always amazed at her abilities.

With ME, she’s now starting to come out with more and more words.  She’s now using “DO!” as a request for me to do something for her, and she’s starting to try to say, “please” as well.  She’s been saying, “more” while she signs it for a while, but it’s so nice to hear her attempt more words.  I do wonder a little bit about her hearing; she isn’t terribly fond of saying the ends to her words, though the speech therapist assures me that it’s normal for someone at her stage of development.  My BFF’s daughter has some hearing loss, which was not detected until she started speaking since she just couldn’t say certain sounds, and that’s what I do worry about.  ME hears and comprehends just fine, but for me that doesn’t rule out some hearing loss.  Also, I met a mother once whose son has the same ear tags ME does, and she told me that the doctors had wondered if her son would suffer hearing loss.  I’ll be asking for a hearing test for ME at her 2-year well-baby visit next month, if they can do it for a kid that small.

She’s still very quiet around strangers.  That’s a bit of problem when I take her to her speech therapy play group because there aren’t the same therapists there every week.  In fact, last week a new-to-her therapist tried to work with ME, and she was having none of it.  She would just walk away when the therapist came near her.

Stubborn girl.

I know she’ll get it, eventually, though I don’t think she will ever be a chatterbox like Grace.  She’s just so quiet in general.  It’s frustrating, though, when I see a kid half ME’s age, babbling away and stringing several words together.  I know kids develop at all different rates, so I shouldn’t worry.  It’s hard, though, when ME tests way off the charts in everything else, with results like a three- or four-year-old, but she just. Won’t. Talk.  It’ll come, I know, I know.  But the frustration is still there, especially when she’s desperately trying to tell me something and I cannot understand her.  That’s the worst part of all.

Hmm.  So much for listening to the birds chirping this lovely day.  Now I have the sound of the house across the street being prepared for demolition drowning out the twittering.  *sigh*

 

5 Responses to “Let all this hope be history”

  1. purple chai Says:

    I could tell you many, many stories of kids who could talk but, like ME, wouldn’t. My favorite is the little boy who was about the age to start talking when he witnesses a traumatic event: he was playing with his grandfather, who suddenly died, right then and there. The boy did not speak after that, he was tested, everything, and then went to a special pre-K school in his town. One day, when the bus driver dropped him off, he asked the kid’s mother why he went to the special school, since he appeared to have no disability or differences. The mother said “Well, you know, he doesn’t speak.” I think they had to revive the bus driver; it turned out that the kid, now about 4, had long, articulate conversations with the bus driver every day, especially about trains, which the kid loved. A bit of other therapy resolved the grandfather issue, and the kid’s been fine ever since. (And btw, isn’t it interesting how each kid raised in a family essentially has slightly different parents? You’re older, you’re younger, you’re more relaxed, more tense. Even with twins, parents usually treat each one just a little differently.)

  2. terri t. Says:

    It good news that ME is saying a few more words…I expect she has figured out how to communicate most of the time without speaking….She is obviously very intelligent and advanced for her age.

  3. My oldest daughter was similar; she couldn’t or wouldn’t speak more than a word or two, and those badly, for quite a while. But then when she DID start speaking – really talking – it was absolutely clear and in complete sentences. I’m willing to bet ME is a perfectionist at heart already.

  4. Kat Says:

    I’m so glad that ME is trying to say new words, that’s awesome. My youngest son had his hearing test done at about 14 months, but it was over a decade ago so I can’t remember every detail about it. I remember being set up in a sound proof room at the hospital where they did the testing and when he reacted to the sound by looking for it a little mechanized toy (one of those wind up monkey’s that bangs two cymbals together would turn on and a light would turn on so that he could see it. He quickly learned to react to the sounds so he could see the monkey. I think the entire test wasn’t as long as I’d suspected.
    I hope that this helps to put your mind at ease, I’m sure that they can test ME’s hearing.

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    It’s so fun when the youngest is old enough to actually play with the older siblings. I remember when it started to happen even for 10 minutes at a time. Now we can almost got 45 minutes without someone screaming about something or other.


Leave a Reply

