The Mind of Bluesleepy

Live like there’s no tomorrow 31 August 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:25 pm

And I am back online!  Finally!

Yesterday I had a hair appointment, and it was while I was sitting with the color on my hair that I got a text from Kurt telling me the internet had gone down.  Not only that, but we had no cable either.

Initially I wasn’t that concerned.  No internet or cable meant more time for reading.  How could this be a bad thing?!  However, ME also chose that day to scream her bloody head off instead of taking a nap.  I’m not exactly sure what’s going on with her, but she’s getting fussier and fussier as the days go by.  She is turning two in a couple of weeks, so I suppose we’re just heading into the Terrible Twos already.

The screaming was rather distracting, I must admit.  I tried several times to soothe her, but not much was working.  I just ended up having to let her scream it out.  I’d put her down for a nap because she’d been so cranky that everything was making her scream, so it wasn’t like I could just cancel the nap.  That just would have compounded the problem.  Ultimately she did fall asleep for a little bit, giving us a bit of respite.

But the internet was still out!  And the recipe that I’d planned on using for dinner was online!  Kurt took pity on me and decided we needed to go out instead, and since I’d had such a rough day with a screaming toddler, he took me to the brewery.  Mmm beer!  I only had the one, but I have to say, it totally hit the spot.

Once the kids were in bed, I decided it was really time for me to sit and read.  Except then I remembered I needed to call my mom to thank her for the package she’d sent.  Somehow that ended up into a 45-minute conversation, especially since I’d talked to my dad for a while at the outset.

My parents and I are weird.  We’re not terribly close, though there’s a lot of love between us.  They live their lives and I live mine, is what it boils down to.  They understand the military lifestyle, since they lived it themselves, and they know I can’t come home for every holiday.  We talk at least once a month, sometimes more often, but sometimes less often.  Occasionally when they call, the conversation dries up within about ten minutes, and other times we’re on the phone for an hour.  It all depends.

I rounded out my internet- and cable-less evening by attempting to kick Kurt’s ass at Wii bowling.  I’d earned PRO status last week and was so excited to have a star-studded bowling ball.  But then over the weekend, I didn’t bowl well enough and lost that PRO status!  I wanted to cry.  I don’t know what it is.  I have to stand in just a certain spot and move my arm in just a certain way to get strikes, while Kurt can simply power the ball down the lane as hard as he can and he ends up with a strike.  Then again that’s what he does in real life, anyhow.

Needless to say, I did not kick Kurt’s ass in Wii bowling.  But I did reinstate my PRO status.  Yay!

At 1:30am I noticed a weird flickering coming in my bedroom window, and realized that there was a cable utility truck on my street.  So I wasn’t surprised when the cable was back on when I got up.

Problem.  We still had no internet.  And of the two, I would much rather have internet.

*sigh*

Kurt called the cable company and was told someone would be out between 1 and 3pm.  My friend down the street who also had experienced an outage had had her cable, internet, and phone restored at 1:30am last night, so I had no idea why I didn’t have internet if I had cable.  Finally I got tired of waiting for the tech to show up, so I started doing my own troubleshooting.

Our cable and our internet came out of the same socket in the wall in the living room.  Kurt had installed a splitter so that we could have the cable box and the modem on the same plug.  So I switched the co-ax for the modem with the co-ax for the cable box on the splitter.  I could get cable, but I still had no internet.  I began to wonder if it was the modem.  It was pretty old, probably from our time in Washington, which would make it anywhere between three and seven years old.  I unplugged the splitter from the wall and plugged the co-ax for the modem straight into the wall.

Voila!  Internet.

Hmm.  Maybe the splitter was bad?  I unplugged the modem and the router, moved all that to the office where we have another cable connection, and set it all back up again.  Still had internet, and now had cable in the living room since it was plugged straight into the wall.  Since everything was now working, I figured we didn’t need a tech to come out and canceled the appointment.

Ten minutes later, a tech showed up at my door.  He was skeptical of my having “fixed” the issue since there were other techs in the neighborhood working on the lines.  See, the whole issue came about when the construction workers that are working in the neighborhood cut the cable lines.  The cable techs had been able to put a band-aid on the situation last night at 1:30am, but it was far from being fully fixed.  The tech that showed up at my door tested my signal strength and sure enough, it wasn’t that my splitter was bad — the problem was the signal strength was far too low to support the splitter in the first place.

Finally around 3pm this afternoon a tech came to the door and let me know it was fully fixed, and that I should have no more problems.  Until the groundskeepers come around tomorrow.  If they aren’t paying attention, they could end up mowing over the line that’s laying on top of the grass and cut service to all the houses that lost service yesterday.  Keep your fingers crossed that it doesn’t happen; I’d rather not be without the internet again any time soon.

But I have to say, I am proud of myself for doing all that I did to fix the problem on my own.  I think I like the new set-up better anyhow, with the modem and the router in the office.  The signal’s stronger, since it no longer has to go through a splitter, and my iPod keeps the WiFi connection so much better now.  So I guess it was a good thing that this all happened, even though it was a humongous headache.

Hopefully this doesn’t happen again any time soon.

 

4 Responses to “Live like there’s no tomorrow”

  1. cocoabean Says:

    Can you mark the cable outside somehow? Cripes! Loss of internet just sucks! LOL

  2. LA Says:

    I am impressed! I was shell shocked and helpless with my broken machine. ~LA

  3. twisterjester Says:

    Being without Internet – that is serious suckage. I’m glad you were up and running – and hope the crews let it remain that way!

  4. terri t. Says:

    Nothing feels worse than to lose your connection with the internet world and cable……It’s like being stuck in a blizzard at home with nothing to read……!
    Glad you figured out a better way to have all the technology come into the house…
    Hope ME gets over her fussing……that can make for very long days….with or without cable and internet.


Leave a Reply

