The Mind of Bluesleepy

Fourth of July fun 5 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:22 am

Well, Kurt got home today early by skipping a meeting he’s supposed to technically go to each morning. Plus he brought me a McD’s breakfast of an Egg McMuffin, which is pretty much the only thing I like at McD’s nowadays. It’s his way of apologizing, and I’ll take it.

I just hope one day he can just see where I’m coming from. (And yes, Poolie, I’d love to go to counseling. Maybe in Rhode Island….)

Anyhooooooooo, yesterday was a blast. Grace and I had been invited down to our friends’ house on the beach for lunch, and after we ate, we headed down to the water. The beaches here aren’t really barefoot-friendly. We hiked down a huge flight of stairs to get to the beach, then had to find a path through the rocks to get to the tidal flats. There really isn’t any swimming except during a low tide.

Loooooooooooooooow tide

That isn’t even the lowest tide! Next week there’ll be one even lower. I was told that I could see starfish when it’s really low. I saw one clinging to the pier’s poles yesterday.

Grace, of course, had a blast, since she’s my little water baby. We walked out so far through the tide pools, and she could actually splash to her heart’s content in each pool. I didn’t think to wear my swimsuit… DUH. Next time, definitely.

Just a gorgeous day on the beach

Then we came home so Grace could take a nap. Once she woke up, it was time to go to the Fourth of July bbq across the street!

I found out last night that the margaritas I had been drinking on Sunday were stronger than normal! While T was making that last one that really kicked me on my butt, I guess she felt she added too much mixer, and I had heard her say, “Oops, better add more tequila!” No wonder I was feeling no pain that night!

The bbq was held at T’s house, and her husband is an awesome cook. He’s one of those guys that will throw this, that, and the other together, and it comes out to this amazingly yummy meal. He made this sour cream-based dip yesterday that was just to die for, and all he did was throw a little bit of this and a wee bit of that into the bowl. That dip was the first thing to go. Everyone loved it.

A wonderful time was had by all! We just sat on the back deck for several hours chatting about various subjects. Finally after it got dark around 11pm, the men took the little girls out front to watch the idiots in the neighborhood set off fireworks. That left the women to chat even more! At this point, Grace fell asleep in her “auntie” J’s arms, who of course was loving every moment.

Grace tries on a bowl for a hat...

Definitely yesterday was one of my favorite Fourth of July celebrations.

 

7 Responses to “Fourth of July fun”

  1. art Says:

    lookit lil gracie!!! such fun!!!!

  2. boxx9000 Says:

    I LOVE Grace’s bathing suit. She should come hang out with me at the pool. We’d look good in our matching 4th of July bathing suits! I feel absolutely NO guilt what-so-ever about taking a 100% MEEeeEEeEEEeeee day because I DESERVE it (and so do you) Just for the record I only get from July 13th – August 1st off work. The rest of the time I am working between the regular school year and summer school. When I get a break like this (5 days off for the 4th) I am going to enjoy EVERY minute of it!

  3. boxx9000 Says:

    I am soOoOooo envious of Grace’s red, plastic bowl hat. I WANT ONE!!

  4. boxx9000 Says:

    I’d LOVE for you to come visit me in California. You are welcome to visit anytime you want. No expiration date on the offer either.

  5. lisele Says:

    Great pictures. REading your last entry brought back bad feelings from early in my marriage…I don’t know what to tell you, but time certainly mellowed my husband. I find it better to forgive and move on than to walk around carrying a grudge and punishing him. The hardest thing to remember is that we all have faults, none of us are perfect, and that in his way he is probably doing his best. He might not be meeting your expectations in a husband all the time, but he is a work in progress. I have often felt that I am raising three kids and one husband. Keep communicating, keep letting him know when he is letting you down. It might not make it better right away, but hopefully he is learning and will get it right eventually. Good luck.

  6. oldewoman Says:

    The thing is, I don’t think Bush believes we’re there for “freedom” either. He just says that. I’m sure he knows we’re there for the oil, but that wouldn’t play very well to the American people.

  7. Michele Says:

    let me know if you ever get sick of me saying that i LOVE the way you take photos! i swear i’m going to hire you to take photos of me & Ben here on the beach!!!!

    you think i’m kidding…. 😉


Leave a comment