The Mind of Bluesleepy

Will I ever grow up? 25 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:40 pm

My face is all broken out again. I feel like a teenager.

Actually, I fared pretty well in the acne department when I was going through puberty. I always had at least a few pimples, but they were rarely large and painful, and I only usually had a few. I always felt so badly for the people who would really break out because they really couldn’t help it.

My brother’s that way. Fortunately he gets ProActiv, and that stuff really does work.

Speaking of ProActiv, I was at the mall today, and there was a ProActiv kiosk. Only it wasn’t just an informational kiosk. It was a mechanical one. It dispensed ProActiv kits and supplies like a soda machine.

Slide your credit card, and out comes ProActiv kits.

It’s the strangest thing I’ve ever seen.

But anyhow, I have persistent, recurring pimples on my chin. One’s just to the left of my mouth, and it’s quite annoying. I have the hardest time resisting the urge to touch it all the time. And the more I touch it, the less likely it is to heal quickly.

I just wish I’d get over the pimples already. I have blackheads out the wazoo on my nose and chin, and while they don’t bother me much since you’d have to be right up on me to notice them, it’s still frustrating. I wouldn’t mind the occasional pimple if I could just get rid of the blackheads.

I’ve tried everything. Blackhead medicine (over the counter stuff; the prescription scares me), scrubs, those little strips that supposedly lift away the blackheads, washing my face twice a day… nothing helps. And they won’t go away.

I’ll be 50 years old and still suffer from blackheads. You watch.

So I was at the mall today. I had to leave the house in order to get milk, so I decided to grab lunch at Wendy’s. Spicy chicken sandwich…. mmmmmmmm yummy. On my way there, my friend texted me to tell me she and her kids might end up at the mall at the play area. I couldn’t resist; I just had to join her. Plus she mentioned something about shoe shopping… YAY!

I left the mall without any new shoes. I really need to cull my collection. It’s getting out of hand. And I left the mall without a new jacket, even though they were on sale at Penney’s! There was this washable suede one with a shearling liner that I adored, but even at $120 on sale, it was too much to spend without examining the budget a bit. Besides, I figured it’d be better to wait to get to Rhode Island before I see how very cold it is.

I’m wondering, does it get excruciatingly cold? I’m a bit scared. I do love the cold; I love how crisp the cold, cold air smells when it’s the middle of winter. It’s a scent I haven’t enjoyed in the four years I’ve lived here. It just doesn’t get cold. But the homes in the Navy housing in Rhode Island are heated solely by baseboard heating. Electric heat… brrrr. I have issues in the winter here, when it does get cold for the two or three days in winter when the temperatures plummet, and all we have to heat the house is electricity. I end up piling on sweatshirts and huddling under blankets.

For a fat chick, I get cold easily.

But yeah, no new jacket for me. I probably have enough anyhow. I did leave the mall with a new Mariners shirt, though. Gotta love those M’s!

After the mall, I stopped at the commissary for the milk I needed. I shocked myself by showing a great deal of restraint in what I bought. I’m moving in two weeks — what more do I need?!? Nothing. Just a few perishables, like two gallons of milk (we drink a gallon of 1% every week) and yogurt. And bread. And some lunch meat for sandwiches.

Although I know better, I went through the self-check.

Apparently I have a need to punish myself.

I had brought my reusable tote bags into the commissary with me so I wouldn’t have to use more plastic bags. And I hate paper bags; they’re just too damn hard to carry. I have these really awesome tote bags from Trader Joe’s that are my absolute favorite.

But I couldn’t put the bags on the carousel to fill as I scanned them. If I did, the self-check yelled at me: “Please remove unscanned item from the bagging area.”

*sigh*

If I just put everything in the bag as I scanned it, the damn thing would yell at me: “Please put scanned item in bagging area.”  If I tried to put the item on the carousel and remove it to bag it once the machine recognized that I had indeed set it in the bagging area, it yelled at me again.

I couldn’t win.

I ended up putting everything on top of the carousel, and as I waited for my debit to be processed, I shoved my groceries as quickly as possible into my waiting bags. Fortunately I only had about ten items, so it was fast.

I think if I have to go again before I move (can you believe that might be my very last trip to this commissary???), I will definitely go through the lines manned by actual humans. It’s a shame, really. I so love self-check.

I will just have to show restraint.

Tomorrow I’m off to the county fair with my friend! How cool is that? Four years I’ve lived here, and I’ve never been to our county fair. I’ve never really had anyone to go with, what with Kurt’s onerous underway schedule, and I wouldn’t really want to go to the fair by myself. This year I might have gone with myself, since Grace would enjoy it so much, but I’m just so thankful to tag along with my friend. It’ll be doubly fun now!

 

9 Responses to “Will I ever grow up?”

  1. art Says:

    it gets freezo in RI, sometimes below zero. just sometimes.

  2. purple chai Says:

    My guess is that the big zits are from stress, so they’ll be gone in a few weeks, at the latest. Best cure for blackheads is a facial, even once or twice a year. And I still get them.

    Here’s how I figured out the check-out. I don’t put my re-usable bag down ahead of time. As I put my first item into the bagging area, I slip it into my bag and put them down together. That way, the sensor only seems to see the one item I just scanned, and not the extra thing, too, and then I can put the other items in my bag as I go along.

  3. Cosmic Says:

    Hey. Cosmic here. Resident Rhode Islander. I have flannel lined jackets hooded that I wear in the winter with a sweatshirt when I’m just hanging around. I have a 3/4 length coat for office and out. I would say that on the average winter day here, it is about 30. We do have a few weeks of single digits, but to me, that isn’t that cold. It’s all relative. But if you are going to be here for any lenght of time, I would invest in the nice winter coat.

    Oh, and as for the pimple, Vitamin E. Get the capsule, break it apart and rub the liquid into the pimple. A girl I knew years ago swears by it.

  4. Cosmic Says:

    Um, that should have been, flannel, lined and hooded. But that looks wrong too. I don’t know. I’m not grammatically awake this morning.

  5. boxx Says:

    I’m 52 and I don’t have blackheads. I’ve been lucky with good skin and both my kids, too. My Dad and my brothers all had really bad acne. I worry more about skin cancer and moles than zits. I do get the occasional ZIT usually along my hairline which is from working out and being sweaty. Have you ever had a ZIT on your head? It’s so weird, but at least my FRO hides it.

  6. Kurt Says:

    Even though you may have right now pimples, you are still pretty to me. I love you no matter what.

    :-* :-*

  7. Poolie Says:

    Good luck with your nards. I still get them every now and then. Uber nards. I guess it’s part of the joy of womanhood.

  8. whatdayisit Says:

    I imagine you will have a cold shock in RI this winter just getting used to the changes in temperature and climate. But with all those coats filling up the big closet, you can probably keep warm enough.
    The continuous pimple thing could be a cold sore that you are just susceptible to. My sister had one that constantly goes away and comes back no matter what she does.
    As for the lined Crocs, I don’t know. I have lots of problems finding comfortable shoes but if you like them, I say go for it. Are they washable as I would think the fleece lining would get grungy very fast?
    And….I am actually my5cents@diaryland.com. I had to create a blog name to get on WordPress and my original name was already taken.!!!! Shock! So, yes, please come read me if you don’t already….I have been writing about my ancestors for several weeks using facts, old diaries, letters and imagination….I would love to know what you think.
    I also sometimes get logged in as Terri T…for some reason!

    But

  9. karmacat Says:

    Simply put, New England gets winter weather. Temperatures are usually milder along the coast, but you’ll have ocean breezes/winds. You will need a warm winter coat — maybe not until after Christmas — but you will need one.


Leave a comment