The Mind of Bluesleepy

Music meme 16 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:38 pm

Today was a good day!! I felt less “out of it” today, which is always a good thing. I am thinking it’s the pregnancy; let’s just hope I don’t come down with post-partum depression like I did with Gracie. I’ll have a lot more help with Kurt being home for the entire pregnancy, so that will be an enormous help, and I am so very grateful for that.

Plus today I conned Kurt into taking me to the mall for another pair of jeans (now that I’m a bit chubbier in the tummy, the only jeans I can find to fit are Lane Bryants, which is a shame because they are not cheap — $40 each! ACK!!), and then we got Grace some school supplies at Target. Of course, we forgot a bunch of things. I really ought to make a list. But Kurt treated me to the 20th anniversary edition of The Princess Bride on DVD. Awesome.

Then we went to the thrift store!!! WOOOO!!! I love thrift stores, I really do. See, Grace’s new school has a large yard in which to play, but it stays muddy until the weather gets really warm, probably around May. The teachers suggest putting snow pants on the kids to keep them dry and warm. I have a snowsuit for her already, but it’s really really nice (thank God for internet clearance sites). I don’t mind it getting snowy, but muddy is something entirely different. I’m very OCD like that. We found this awesome snowsuit for Gracie at the thrift store for $4, and it’s pants and a coat all in one. Plus it’s already got some stains on it, so when it gets trashed I won’t really mind. I also like that it’s an all-in-one piece, which will keep her warmer when she’s outside playing.

We ended up going to the thrift store to get the snowsuit mainly because our regular stores no longer carry winter clothing. Why would they? It’s the middle of February, with another two good months of winter left, but all the summer stuff is on the shelves already! I can buy a pair of shorts for Gracie, but not mittens and a hat. I can understand that in the South, but I live in New England, for goodness’ sake! We could get snow in April!

I will never understand why I can buy bikinis in February but not warm-weather gear.Here’s a meme that’s been running around the blogosphere; I stole it fair and square from both SleepyJane and my sister Michele.

1. Put your iTunes, Windows Media Player, iPod, etc. on shuffle.
2. For each question, press the next button to get your answer.
3. You must write that song name down no matter how silly it sounds.

**DISCLAIMER: My mp3 player hasn’t been charged in millenia (thank you, XM radio), so I am using Kurt’s mp3 player. We have mostly the same taste in music, but not always.

My alter ego is: Put a Lid On It by Squirrel Nut Zippers

When I’m in the shower I sing: New Age Girl by Deadeye Dick

My day will be like: Liberty by Steve Vai

When I’m drunk I say: Enid by Barenaked Ladies

Somewhere in my wedding vows I will include: Shut Up and Smile by Bowling for Soup

My makeout song is: The Fix Is In by OK Go

My deepest secret is: My Way by Los Lonely Boys

Next time I’m in front of a crowd I’ll say: Sad But True by the Transplants

High school was like: Bad Habit by the Offspring

At my funeral they will play: 7 AM by Dirty Vegas

If I reached the top of Mount Everest I would scream: Goodnight Saigon by Billy Joel

My ultimate song for dancing is: Beer by Reel Big Fish

What makes me happy is: Devil’s Dance by Metallica

To cheer myself up I: Waiting for Love by Pink

The best thing about me is: Lips of an Angel by Hinder (which is funny because most people feel my lips are my best feature)

I’ll have a good day if I can just hear: I Never Met a Woman by Los Lonely Boys

My last words will be: Toxicity by System of a Down

My best friend is like: Captain Jack by Billy Joel

What I did last night was: Hit That by the Offspring (I wish!!!)

My theme song is: Second Best by the Barenaked Ladies

The story of my life is: House of the Bullets by Joe Satriani

At my wedding they will play: F*ck Her Gently by Tenacious D (I told you this was Kurt’s music!)

My favourite thing to do is: Domination by Metallica, covered by Apocalyptica (four cellists that cover heavy-metal music, and the CD ROCKS!)

Happiness is: One Week by the Barenaked Ladies (and the Barenaked Ladies are my favorite band, so any song by them is happiness to me.)

I often think about: Return of the Phantom Stranger by Rob Zombie

My best friend always says: Lovesong by the Cure

This is what I want to be when I grow up: Refuse/Resist by Metallica, covered by Apocalyptica

My biggest fear is: All the Small Things by Blink-182 (and I hate this song… grrr)

This is how I feel today: Nothing Else Matters by Metallica

Please feel free to steal this meme! I love to see others’ taste in music.

 

6 Responses to “Music meme”

  1. sleepyjane Says:

    I keep forgtting you’re pregnant the all of a sudden it hits me and I get SO excited! I can wait for cute belly pics and the whole nine yards! I’ve never had a pregnant blog friend before so it’s all so wonderful! 🙂 YAY

    VERY cool music meme! I liked the wedding ones. Shut up and smile and the other one…it’s too funny! 🙂 LOVE your taste in music – but you already know that.

  2. michele Says:

    hi, Sis! cool meme blog.
    I agree that it’s stupid for you guys to have shorts on the shelves in February. Here, totally makes sense. In fact, we have bathing suits out and everything. of course, it’s going to be in the mid-80s today.

    if you email me some of Gracie’s sizes, I’ll check clearance racks, etc. down here to see if I can help fill in the gaps.

    love you!

  3. chaosdaily Says:

    i had trouble with dates when i was pregnant.. i never could remember what year it was, and i had trouble with the day to day dates, too…

  4. Terri Says:

    Whenever I was pregnant, the first trimester was always a blur. I don’t remember any movies, because I’d always fall asleep. The only times in my life when I was asleep by 9. LOL

    I like a lot of the bands in that meme!

  5. cardiogirl Says:

    My two favorites are:

    If I reached the top of Mount Everest I would scream: Goodnight Saigon by Billy Joel

    At my wedding they will play: F*ck Her Gently by Tenacious D

  6. Elle Says:

    I shuffled myself a minute ago! I got much more old stuff off my iPod.


Leave a comment