The Mind of Bluesleepy

Happy birthday to meeeeee!! 20 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:51 am

Thanks for all of your encouraging comments on my last post!! Sometimes I wonder if I’m crazy for thinking the way I do, and apparently it’s a common affliction. That makes me feel a lot better, it really does.

On to other news:

Yes, folks, today is my 29th birthday! I’m actually excited about today; Kurt’s invited the neighbors over. He’s going to make his “famous” lasagna (he’s never made it before for me, so I don’t know how “famous” it really is), and hopefully we’ll get to play some games.

Kurt's first lasagna

Kurt’s first “famous” lasagna

That photo really cracks me up.  It was taken at least ten years ago, when he was living in Hawaii, and he went over to his friend’s house to make a lasagna.  He was so very proud of himself here; can you tell??  Also, please note the hair.  It cracks me up every time I see a photo of him with hair.

Actually, this might be in his own apartment.  I recognize the utensil holder next to the stove; I’m currently using it as a vase!

As soon as Kurt gets home from work, which should be in about twenty minutes or so, we’re going to pick up the neighbor’s boys and take them and Grace up to this carnival the base is throwing for the kids.  Apparently the kids get this entire week off for “winter break.”  And yes, it’s different from “Christmas break” and “spring break.”  Geez, I can’t fathom getting a whole week off in the middle of February.  When I was in school, we just got Presidents’ Day off, and that was it until spring break in April.  In Nebraska, our spring break was a four-day weekend, instead of the full week that most kids get off.  But I liked it that way; it allowed us to get out of school before Memorial Day and have a super long summer.

Somehow I’m also going to have to work in some housework, as I’ve been lazy since I’ve been home from San Jose.   The house isn’t too messy, but I’ve got to put stuff away, do some vacuuming, and mop the kitchen floor.  Pretty easy, really — I just have to find the time to do that.

And now it’s off to do the meme that YankeeChick tagged me with!

1. Pick up the nearest book ( of at least 123 pages).

2. Open the book to page 123.

3. Find the fifth sentence.

4. Post the next three sentences.

5. Tag five people & post a comment here once you post it to your blog, so I can come see.

Here goes:

1. The World of Null-A by A.E. van Vogt, which Catie’s husband Andy lent me when I was in San Jose.

2.  Done.

3.  “Prescott’s countenance showed no hint of his reaction to the night before.”

4.  “He turned, started to walk away, then came back.  He stood staring at Gosseyn.  His manner remained coldly hostile, but his eyes were curious.”

5.  If you want to do it, consider yourself tagged!!

I wish I had the creativity level to do what Poolie and Chaos have done, by finishing up the story in their own words.  But alas, my brain is simply not awake enough to do that!!  Ah well.  Another time, perhaps.

And now I am off to get ready for the day!!!  Have a great one!

 

18 Responses to “Happy birthday to meeeeee!!”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    happy birthday! woot!!

  2. terri t. Says:

    Happy Birthday and I hope the famous lasangna was as delicious as Kurt remembers….!

  3. purple chai Says:

    Happy Birthday to yooooooooou!

  4. michele Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Sis!!!

    I LOVE YOU!! *MUAH*

    ~hugs & smooches~

  5. yankeechick Says:

    Happy Birthday!!! Gotta love a man that will make lasagna for you! Have a great day! **hugs**

  6. Angela Says:

    Happy birthday, you beautiful woman! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful celebration tonight, you deserve every second of it. 🙂

  7. Chelle Says:

    Happy Birthday to you!

  8. Kym Says:

    Happy Birthday to you (you know the rest of the song)! LOL! Your present is on it’s way and I hope you like it. Actually, there are two presents in one envelope. Don’t you feel so special?

    Enjoy the lasagna. Looks yummy in the photo. You’ll have to let us all know how it was.

    Also, have fun at the carnival. :o)

    Hugs~
    Kym

  9. Elle Says:

    Happy Birthday to you!!!!

  10. Miss Hiss Says:

    Happy birthday, darling! And let’s hope that lasagna is every bit as wonderful as we’ve all heard it is! Love, R xxx

  11. MilitaryMom Says:

    Happy Birthday sweetie! And I hope this is the best year you’e eve had. Of course it will be, new baby! Yay!

  12. Tracy27 Says:

    Happy, happy birthday, baby.

  13. sleepyjane Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR BLUE! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!

    I hope you have a wonderful day and year! May there be many more!

    oxox

  14. art Says:

    happy birthday!!! yay!!!

  15. Shear Says:

    Happy Birthday dear friend!!!!!

  16. Aimee Says:

    Happy Birthday!!!! Have a wonderful time.

  17. clairec23 Says:

    I can’t believe I’m late for your birthday…(so sorry!)

    Hope you had a great day (even though you couldn’t go on a complete mad celebration with the little baby) and that this year is your best yet!

  18. bitterwineuk Says:

    Happy Birthday x


Leave a comment