The Mind of Bluesleepy

Every day it gets a little better 1 June 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:09 pm

My dog Koolit is feeling so much better. For one thing, when he visits the water bowl, he’s only drinking for a short time, instead of his marathon sessions that he was indulging in before we put him on antibiotics. He hasn’t woken me up in the middle of the night by banging his tags against his water bowl for five straight minutes, and I haven’t woken up to the sound of urine hitting the tile floor in the bathroom. He’s even seeming to act better. Today was a really gorgeous day, and we let the dog out to do his business just before we left the house. I got tired of waiting for him, so I went to see what the heck he was doing out there. And I found him laying on the grass, sniffing the fresh air and thoroughly enjoying the breeze ruffling his fur and the sun warming his skin. This wasn’t our first nice day of the spring, but it was the first time he’s felt well enough to enjoy himself out there.

It makes me feel so much better, let me tell you.

For those of you who were wondering if the heat was doing him in, let me assure you that isn’t the case. Thus far, I can tell you that Rhode Island has a summer like Washington’s, though I can see the potential for humidity here, where Washington has none. Not enough to be a problem, anyhow. It hasn’t even hit 80º here yet, though it’s now the first day of June. Firefox is telling me the forecast for this coming week is low 70s all the way down to the low 60s for the high temperature of the day.

It’s got to get hot enough eventually for beach weather, since we have some very popular beaches in Newport. There was a front page photo in the newspaper one day showing Easton’s Beach to be completely packed in July. I don’t mind the cool weather right now. I figure it’s that much less time I have to deal with hot, sticky weather without air conditioning. Plus it’s what I got used to in Washington.

How will I survive when we move back to Virginia?? HOW?!

Argh.

Yesterday we headed up to a mom & pop grocery store to get Grace what she calls “sick oatmeal.” See, when she had the stomach flu a couple months ago, the only thing I could think of to give her that was mild enough for a queasy stomach was the Maypo hot cereal I had on hand. Now she has it every school day, and she still refers to it as “sick oatmeal.”

It’s funny what sticks in a kid’s mind.

At this grocery store, we found a pint of fresh blueberries on sale for a mere $3! It must be coming into blueberry season because they’re usually much more expensive than that. It was such a good deal I had to pick them up, even though I had no idea what I would make with them.

I also got some strawberries, though I know what to do with those. Dip into sugar and eat! Yummy!!

That’s when we got an invite to our friends’ house for dinner, and I knew I had to make something special. This was the second time they’d invited us over, and we hadn’t had a chance to reciprocate yet!

I poked around on the internet, finding a recipe for angel food cake — but then I realized it used twelve (!!!) egg whites. Hm. Well. On to another recipe.

Finally I found one for blueberry pound cake. It seemed like it was easy enough, reading through the recipe. But in practice, it was a bit more difficult.

See, I am not a baker. Give me a dinner to make, and I am good to go. I can make almost anything if it’s not too terribly complicated. Things that are rolled, like ravioli or wantons, are out, as well as anything requiring a dough. But anything else, that I can handle.

Baking isn’t hard, per se, but it’s more finicky. Your measurements have to be more precise, and your ingredients have to be fresh enough. And I hardly do any of it since Kurt and I don’t have a sweet tooth. I’ll want one muffin or one brownie if I make them, and then the rest goes stale. So there isn’t really a point to my practicing my baking skills.

Like I said, the recipe wasn’t hard, but it was fussy. First you had to cream the butter, the cream cheese, and the sugar together. Thank God I have a KitchenAid stand mixer; I could throw everything in there and walk away for a couple of minutes to get the rest of the ingredients prepared. Then you added three eggs, one at a time, and then one egg white. So you add, you mix, you stop, you scrape, you add, you mix, you stop, you scrape. Lather, rinse, repeat. Next was mixing the flour with the baking powder, the baking soda, and the salt, and adding the flour in small batches, alternating with adding the lemon yogurt. Finally it all came together as a batter, and the only thing that was left was to fold in the vanilla and the blueberries.

Baking took an hour and ten minutes, but once it was finished, it looked divine. All that was left was to drizzle a glaze made from powdered sugar and lemon juice over the warm cake once it had cooled slightly in the pan.

Behold!

Finished product

Now doesn’t that look gorgeous?? I was so amazed that I managed to create something so pretty.  And it was very tasty as well.  Our friends kept telling me how good it was.  The husband even had two pieces!!

I guess maybe now I can add baking to my list of things I can do.  As long as I stay away from pies.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to make a decent crust!

 

13 Responses to “Every day it gets a little better”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    Your cake looks yummy! And as to the baking going stale, do what I do when it’s just me: bake as usual and put all but a couple of pieces in the freezer in individual packages. That way you can pull it out later and it’ll still be fresh. Bonus points because if you have unexpected company show up, just pull it out of the freezer and thaw, and voila! Instant munchies 😉

  2. shipjumper Says:

    Ok, I REALLY hate it when you, your sister, and others post PICTURES of your darned food creations! It’s just not FAIR! What pray tell am I supposed to do on this side of the computer after I see THAT! HUH?? Salivate, drool, and just be unsatisfied. Ugh. It is so not fair!

  3. chaosdaily Says:

    I watched Alton Brown one night on Good Eats, and he said that cooking was blending flavors, but baking is a chemical reaction. It IS way more fussy than cooking… but it looks like that cake turned out great. If you make angel food, just remember that it has to hang upside down while it’s hot.. and if you don’t like using that many eggs, lots of stores sell a product called “Just Whites” that comes in a cardboard “can”… just measure and use like egg whites. It’s a good thing to keep on hand….

  4. terri t. Says:

    There is no end to your many talents and I bet you would NEVER resort to using a box mix to make something easy….. LOL

    No kidding, I should not have read this late at night because now I am hungry….

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    OMG that looks so good! I am so craving that right now! Mmmm. 🙂 I’m glad it was such a hit!

  6. Elle Says:

    Bee-YOU tiful! And I bet you could make a pie if you took a mind to — as a matter of fact, I have a recipe for a blueberry yogurt pie that has a crust like a sugar cookie that would be divine for your NEXT pint of berries!

  7. michele Says:

    I don’t have a problem with Gracie going out back to play… your yard is fenced in. And you don’t live right by a canal. The courtyard that I referenced in my blog is perpendicular to the canal. There is no fence. Had the little boy wandered a few yards, he could have drowned.

  8. Chelle Says:

    I would like a piece of that for breakfast, please. I think it will be perfect along with my morning coffee. You are very talented, pretty lady!

    Also, I am so glad Koolit is feeling better.

  9. becca Says:

    Wow. that cake looks fantastic. I do pastry well but can’t seem to bake very well so maybe we should team up. 🙂

  10. becca Says:

    Just seen your comment on my pregnancy diary and the birthing centres you describe are pretty much like the maternity unit we have in my town. It’s only about 6 years old but it is full of possibilities. I’m not too worried about my surroundings as long as we both get through it in one piece quickly and smoothly, that’s all that matters. I do think that when you are in the middle of labour thats the last thing on your mind. 🙂

  11. andrea Says:

    Yay for Koolit! What a relief that he’s on the mend.

  12. Terri Says:

    So glad Koolit is doing better!

    Holy moly, that cake looks amazing! I’m SO glad you shared the recipe. Thank you!!

    Yeah, I don’t do pies either. My Mom makes the most amazing crust. Mine are so-so. She’s tried to teach me, but I guess I’m a lost cause. Hence, I figure why bother! But I do make a yummy pie filling. 🙂

  13. karmacat Says:

    I am drooling over that cake. Courtesy of my Gram, I have what is probably a similar recipe. Haven’t made it in eons, but now I may have to. Yum.

    As for the humidity, it will come. By the way, I thought of you the other night when there was a little bit of thunder and lightning.


Leave a comment