The Mind of Bluesleepy

Time for a little snooze 14 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:17 pm

Y’all will be pleased to hear that not only did Grace get a bit of a nap today, but so did I!!  As soon as I walked in the door from dropping Kurt off at work, I decided that was it and I needed a nap.  Grace required a bit more convincing, not surprisingly.  I had already snuggled down on my loveseat when I heard her banging around in her room.  After a few more stern arguments from me, Grace finally passed out.

I think it was around 2:30pm that I fell asleep, maybe closer to 3.  I meant to sleep only till 3:30, which is when I planned to start working on Elle’s mother’s pot roast recipe since it needs a while to braise in the oven.  I was still asleep when Kurt called at 3:45pm, wanting a ride home.

Boy, was I groggy.  And I had to get Gracie up too!  I kept asking her, “Don’t you want to go get Daddy?” and she kept rolling away from me and saying, “No, Mommy, I’m tired.”  Surprising — especially since Daddy is her absolute, numero uno favorite person in the world.  Finally she cooperated, but getting her Crocs on and her jacket was quite the frustrating experience.

I was this close to making the poor man walk home.

I’m still exhausted.  And I haven’t even done anything today!!  I know some of you are worried I am doing too much, but I am seriously a lazy slug most days.  Today I got up, took a shower, got dressed, fed Grace, and took her to school.  As soon as I got home, I sat at the laptop, caught up on my morning blogs, and Twittered away.  Around 11:15am Kurt came home, and we got lunch at our local diner again.  We picked up Grace from school at 12:30, ran to The Christmas Tree Shop and Wal-Mart, dropped Kurt off at work, and came home again, which is when I passed out.  I haven’t done a lick of housework today, unless you count starting the washer for one load (which is still in the washer) and making dinner.  Oh, and I emptied the dishwasher.

I could seriously lay down on the couch right now and go back to sleep.  Fortunately tomorrow is a day to sleep in, so I won’t be hauling my patootie out of bed before 8:30am, I assure you.

Did I mention we went to our local diner for lunch today?  Each day they change their daily specials.  One day I got a tuna club (tuna fish with bacon), another day I got a chicken salad club (chicken salad with bacon).  I’ve gotten their baconburger, and Kurt’s tried their Freedom burger, which is a double bacon cheeseburger.  No matter what you get, it’s all divine.

Today the specials included a roast beef club and a turkey sub.  I had been getting the club sandwiches the last few times we had gone, but they’re so good I couldn’t resist.  I had set on getting the roast beef club today until Kurt asked the waitress what’s in a turkey sub.  You simply cannot imagine the deliciousness hidden in such an innocuous name for a sandwich as “turkey sub.”

Folks, I did not have a turkey sub.  I had what is affectionately known at William and Mary, my alma mater, as a “dinner sandwich,” only the diner’s rendition was far better.  We’re talking sliced turkey meat (not luncheon meat turkey) on a sub roll with homemade stuffing and cranberry sauce.  At W&M, you could get a dinner sandwich on marble rye, my favorite kind of bread.  But they used commercially prepared stuffing.  The diner uses homemade.

I was in heaven.  Kurt so wanted to take a photo of me eating because I kept chair-dancing after each bite.  I even started giggling demonically a few times.

I so wish I could have another sandwich.  My mouth waters just thinking about it.  It was huge, though!  And then there were fries as well, which I ate with malt vinegar.  Of course.  Kurt tried my vinegar fries and felt ketchup tasted better.  To each his own.  I just wish I could get Old Bay Seasoning when I went out for lunch.  I have very fond memories of my dad taking me to piano lessons in the mall, and afterwards we’d head to Boardwalk Fries in the food court.  If I didn’t like them the way Dad made the fries, I wasn’t getting any.  So I learned to love fries in malt vinegar with Old Bay Seasoning sprinkled all over.  Yummy!

And now it’s just about time for bed.  *snore*

 

7 Responses to “Time for a little snooze”

  1. yankeechick Says:

    I SO want a Freedom burger!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Shippie Says:

    You poor thing, I feel so bad that you’re so exhausted!! But darnit anyhoo….that sub sounds fanfreakingtabulous!!!!! I don’t know about when you were in Seattle, but Portland was weird with turkey. Any day of the YEAR and darn near any restaurant you could ALWAYS get a full blown thanksgiving dinner plate, or a turkey sandwich was you described. The city was obsessed with that all american favourite turkey day dessert!! Oh yummmy…it sounds soooooo good right now too. I’m jealous!

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    I haven’t had breakfast yet, and reading about all the yummy food made me reall hungry, and I normally don’t get hungry before 10 am. Mmmm.

  4. art Says:

    you are allowed to be exhusted!!! and pass the turkey meat?? pleeeeze!! 🙂

  5. twisterjester Says:

    It’s normal for some pregnancies to be tired all the time. I certainly was. As long as all of your tests come out good, the best thing you can do is let your body dictate what you can and cannot do. Who knows? You could be carrying twins, which would certainly zap your strength!

  6. michele Says:

    I am REALLY glad you got to eat your favorite sandwich. Yay for you! You know, the only homemade stuffing I’ve ever had was my mom’s. And truthfully, I hated it. I thought it was so gross. I really used to like StoveTop as sad as that sounds.

    Oh, wait! Two Thanksgivings ago I kind of made my own stuffing. I used W-S’s foccacia stuffing as a base and added my own ingredients and spices. Does this count?

  7. whatdayisit Says:

    Once again, your description of the food you ate is making me sad because I don’t have the same thing in my kitchen or even have a restaurant even close by that could measure up to what you said about what you ate. Boo-hoo

    But yay for the nap you took. Good for you.


Leave a comment